BED BASES AND FRAMES

Sleep Number® Bed Modular Base

Sleep Number ® Bed Modular Base is rated 3.1914893617021276 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Foundation! Solid as a rock. Reliable! This is easy to assemble and is as solid as a rock. And the foundation cover fits perfectly. I don't understand any of the reviews here that claim otherwise and can only imagine that these customers didn't assemble properly. It is sturdy and does't squeak like some metal foundations do when you roll around on the mattress. It was a breeze to assemble and has never presented any problems ever in over 4 yrs. I highly rec this product!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I noticed that our bed seemed to be sagging in the middle. Today I looked under the bed and saw that the cross brackets were sagging and broken in the middle. I was really upset at the thought of having to replace the base when the bed was expensive in the first place (but we love love love our Sleep Number bed). I used the customer service chat feature and explained the problem. They were happy to replace the base at no charge and it is being shipped. It was a stress-free interaction. Thanks, Select Comfort!
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bed & Foundation I have owned my twin size P5 for almost 10 years and would never go back to a conventional mattress. I love the fact that on any given night, I have the ability to adjust the firmness or softness of my mattress so that I can be comfortable because I have multi-level disc herniations. The ability to adjust my mattress insures that I will get a restful sleep. Another plus is how easy the mattress is to dismantle including the foundation. When I moved, the movers were able to put my mattress and foundation into 2 wardrobe boxes; hence it was kept clean and neat and easy to move. The Sleep Number people are awesome too, their customer service department aims to please and I take comfort in that as well. In closing, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my mattress system!
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a great night's sleep! We've had a Select Comfort Bed for over 12 years. We upgraded the mattress several years ago but decided to keep the same base which consisted of lightweight beams and no top. When we moved a couple of years ago, we disassembled the base. Ever since that time the foundation was always creaking and every time my wife woke up or rolled over, the noise would wake me up. I was getting fed up and decided to call Select Comfort. I was skeptical of the new base due to some negative reviews but thought I would give it a try. The new modular base is very sturdy and works great! I'm getting a good nights rest now and never even hear my wife move around on the bed! Assembly was easy ( using a rubber mallet makes it much easier ). Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bed Ever My husband and I have owned a split king for the past 8 years. It resolved our different problems with soft-hard bed. Never had a minute's problem and love the comfort of the bed and especially the ability to lift the head of the bed. Great to have for anyone who has back or leg problems. Would purchase another one. Be sure to get the mattress pad that provides a cool feeling. A bed of comfort, quality & value
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife and I have used this bed for 7yrs, every couple months I have to add air, far from a problem. CA king modular frame has never been a problem, and is very easy to move. I am 220# +. We ordered our frame seperate as we new there were no legs. For us it is very sturdy, maybe there is a weight limit. My only problem is I should have ordered a thicker comfort pad. I also would have preffered adjustable, when I bought the bed I lived in a small town and could not get the adjustable set up, 2hrs. from nearest store.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bed I have owned a king size for several years. No problems, no leakage, never had a problem with the mattress sliding on the base. The modular base is very strong and rigid, much better design than a box spring. Adjustability is great for couples and also sometimes you just feel like a softer or firmer mattress.
Date published: 2011-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenience, Durability and Ecological I have been sleeping on a sleep# for 6+ years. I have never had a problem. The frame is extremely durable, lightweight and transportable. I live in a city where I move every 1-2 years. This bed is so easy to transport (I fit everything in my toyota corolla-broken down of course). And if one part fails, breaks or needs replacing...you replace just that one part. Rather than throwing away an entire box spring (imagine that in a landfill). As far as I can tell, though....this bed will last for many years which makes the price completely reasonable in my eyes.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We like it.. We really like the foundation with legs! It looks great. A little expensive but worth it so that we no longer need a bed skirt. The mattress still move, however we added the nonslip material they use for rugs and that solved the problem.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my bed! I've had mine for 4 yrs now & I love it! The lady at the store explained that I needed a bed frame or to purchase the legs desperately.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I had read 4 yr old review… No legs w/base I too bought a bed and paid for the base. Apparently the employee who sold it to me doesn't read your reviews either. Seems common for Sleep Number to gouge buyers with the add-ons after the initial purchase. While I like the mattress, the difficulty navigating and understanding both your website (and in-store discussions) leaves something to be desired… Where on this website can I see the two models/types of legs available and the associated pricing? Sleep Number should at least comp the delivery costs since it should have been included in the purchase of the base.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the bed, but the base is now squeaking I really love my bed, but about a month ago the base began to creak when we move. We took the bed apart and put it back together, even tightened the headboard, but it still creaks. What can we do? It's hard to know how to fix plastic.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1" sag between sides in the modular base. We've had our select comfort bed since 2006 and one thing that I found out recently is the plastic modular base was sagging in the middle by 1". I don't know if that started from day 1 or when it started. I believe that if I would have not purchased the base and used my old box spring we would not have had the issues through the years trying to solve the sagging of the bed by buying more foam to build up the center of the bed from the top instead of removing the base. Customer service did the best they could throughout the years trying to help us solve this problem but I don't believe they had any idea the modular base was the problem. This explained why we always had the feeling we were falling to the center and the bed was concaved. Today (06-21-15) I replaced the modular plastic frame with a new box spring and disassembled the modular frame and place in the garage for disposal.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mod Bse The bed base keeps breaking. It needs to be made of a stronger material. I had no problems the first 3 years.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service! The modular base on our Sleep Number bed broke after one year of use. It is made of heavy duty plastic and has hollow cross supports that the bed rests on. Two of our supports bent and deflected under the weight of the bed after a year. It happened slowly over time, resulting in a feeling that we were rolling to the middle. At first, we were concerned that the bed was not standing up. We were quite relieved when we looked and saw the issue with the base. We put the bed temporarily on a solid platform, and it is back to the great bed that it was. We called customer service, and Joy (who is a Sleep Number 65) ;-) was so incredibly helpful and did not hesitate to send us a new modular base. We'll have it in 7 days at no cost. We loved the bed. Now we love the customer service as well.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great warrantee service! A few other owners have complained about the plastic base collapsing, and the company reply said call customer service, it may be covered under warrantee. Well, I did just that and although my bed is now over 10 years old, a new base was sent out with no cost to me, not even shipping. I am truly impressed with the curtesy shown and the immediate relief I received. It is not too often these days to find companies which stand behind their products as Sleep Number did for me today. I hope the other customers with problems called the service department as I did.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comfortable Bed, Base leaves lots to be desired Love our bed! Hate that we are practically sleeping in the floor after purchasing the expensive plastic base. At no point in the process were we informed that legs were an add on, and super expensive too, on top of it!!! Our choice of legs should have been included in the original purchase price. Ridiculous, and very disappointing.
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bases I have a problem with the bed being 100 % comfortable because of the hard plastic bases...why don't you have soft comfortable bases ?
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No legs! Not disclosed Beware, even though the picture shows this base with legs, the legs are sold separately. This modular base is functional but is way overpriced! A piece of plywood (much cheaper) does the same thing since you still must purchase a frame (or overpriced legs) to hold it all up! Come on Sleep Country, state that the legs are sold separately! (another $90 I might add)
Date published: 2011-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't get comfortable Bought a couple months, just not comfortable with bed yet
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No feet with the base? Just received our bed and base today, haven't slept on it yet, but extremely confused as to why the base didn't come with feet...When buying a base, its normal to assume it comes with all pieces...and pretty sure for the $ we spent on it that it should....Wish this was explained to us in the store....very disappointed. Now have to find and purchase legs so our very expensive i8 mattress isn't on the floor...
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Module bottom keeps breaking I have never had a more comfortable be but the base is terrbile The middle leg support bent in and snapped now I have boards holding it up
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Modular Frame Is Junk We purchased our bed a couple years ago! We have already had to get a replacement controler! We were also noticing that the bed sagged in the middle from the begining! Well when my 3 year old daughter was climbing under the bed the plastic gave way and the bed fell on her! When my boyfriend pulled the bed apart to fix it and noticed all the supports were bent in the middle and that is why the bed sagged in the middle! After paying over $2000 for our bed we expected a lot more!
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slipping Bed I love my sleep number mattress, but the plastic box spring alternative doesn't keep the top mattress from slipping. My husband & I have to pull our top mattress back up to keep it from leaving a huge space between the mattress and wall.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The base isn't that great I want to start by saying that I love the bed...but the foundation is poorly built plastic. I thought that I was just having a hard time frinding the right number because often my back would hurt in the morning. Last night i was pulling something out from under the bed when I noticed that the crossbeams were not in place and the platfrom had sagged significantly! When I tried to fix it, the plastic started to fall apart in my hands. Now I've got to buy a frame and box spring from somewhere else because I have a $300 broken chunk of plastic under my bed and I'm not paying for another one.
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Much Plastic I've had my sleep number bed almost 2 years now. However, my frame started to sag in the middle about 3 months ago. The beds are great once you find your number but I wish the frames were well built or made from another material. Too pricey for plastic.
Date published: 2011-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I agree with other posts. I did not know I was not getting the legs, my queen bed sits way to low to the floor, just like an air mattress. The frame is plastic and makes me think it is way over priced.
Date published: 2011-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Plastic base, Poor quality/ Same problem like the others, Plastic beams started sagging. Had to add additional support to keep this hapening again. Plywood and extra support legs seem to be working. Customer service was great. Just wish they told you about this problem. Or if they added support legs to the frame to give it better support in the middle. Not happy with the base, But I love the bed. And do not let this discourage you from buying one. You deserve a good nights sleep,And this bed will help you get it. 5* for bed 2* for base.
Date published: 2011-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Modular base is crack I brought my bed p5 queen about 3 years ago and my base is crack and really don't know what to do about it do y'all replace the base ? because it shouldn't have done this.help if you can
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective base This is one of three Sleep Number beds that we own, we bought our first 17 years ago. Overall, I am a fan of Sleep Number. This particular bed and base I am reviewing is 8 years old. We noticed our bed was creaking and popping when we turned over or moved at all. We also noticed we kept rolling to the middle. I finally, after months of it getting progressively worse, took my bed apart and immediately found the problem. Two of the molded slats have split and are gaping open causing the sag and creaking. It is a wonder they did not completely fall through the frame! Additionally, the top part of the frame base appears to be starting to do the same. My husband and I are average sized people, so our weight is not the cause of the issue. We are also having issues with the air bladder of this bed, but that is for a different review.
Date published: 2016-05-11
  • 2016-09-26T08:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_base-modular, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Price:$199.99 - $399.99

SALE  $199.99 - $399.99

Reg. $199.99 - $399.99

    Product Features

    Sleep Number® Bed Modular Base: Maximize Your Comfort and Support. Our extra-strong, durable Modular Base takes the place of a traditional box spring and won't sag or break down over time - it provides a firm, level surface that will last 20 years or more. Its unique component design makes it easy to move through narrow spaces and assemble in smaller rooms. Included in bed set pricing. Made in USA.Support your Sleep Number mattress and Modular Base with optional Modular Base Legs or a Rolling Bed Frame. Sleep Number Brackets let you connect your headboard and footboard to your Modular Base.

    Maximize the comfort and support of your Sleep Number® bed.

    • Made in the USA of durable, long-lasting material
    • Easy-to-move component design
    • Replaces a traditional box spring
    • Included in set pricing
    Legs sold separately

    Product Reviews

    Product Reviews

    Product Q&A

    Product Q&A

    Sleep Number
    Feel, see, and hear the difference
    You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store
    $199.99