MATTRESS PADS & TOPPERS

Sleep Number® DualTemp Layer

Sleep Number ® DualTemp ™ Layer is rated 2.6865671641791047 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from takes a great bed and makes it marginal I have had the king bed for 7 years and love it. I bought the dualtemp pad over a year ago. 1) pad does not stay in place during the night. We are of average height and weight so that should not be an issue. 2) the fan motors are loud. 3) can not find any sheets that will fit properly over hose. Sheets pull up. 4) pad bunches up. Poor design.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Waste of Money! I agree with those who said the hoses were too short and the pad wrinkled up - I finally got to a point that we took it off the bed, and put it away, and my bed suddenly became so much more comfortable! I specifically tried to buy sheets to fit over the hoses, and what they sold me was a "pig in poke", and now I am stuck with them! I love my sleep number bed, and on that I would give it 5 stars, but this expensive pad is a real waste of money!!
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the cost My husband and I tried this out at the Sleep Number store and were impressed by both the heating and cooling of the mattress topper at the store. The price was a bit overwhelming at almost $2000 for a King size, but since we were able to do the 36 month no interest financing we decided to give it a try and purchased it. Unfortunately we were disappointed in the actual product once we got it home and tried it out for about a month. Assembly instructions were included, and it was easy to assemble. However, our bed sits high and the hoses were not long enough to reach the blowers so we had to set each blower up on a box. We were fortunate enough that the units/including the boxes were able to fit under our headboard, otherwise we would have had to place the boxes/blowers next to the bed. This would not only be unattractive, but they would definitely be in the way and dangerous if tripped over when one gets up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. The units are also a bit noisy. Not bad if you already sleep with some sort of “white noise”, but if you are not used to that, it can be a bit irritating. The units also have filters which they recommend be replaced every 6 months- adding to the cost of this item. One big caution--you need to use low thread count sheets (not over 400 TC) to get the best performance out of the Dual Temp. The instructions also indicate you should not use Polar fleece or flannel sheets with the Dual Temp. We have 800 thread-count sheets for use in the warmer months and Polar fleece sheets for use in the winter. So short of buying new sheets I went ahead and put the 800 TC sheets on. But apparently the threads are woven too tight and will not let the air flow through adequately. The heating was not consistent and there were some areas that were cold and some areas that were warm. This was on a medium heat setting. The instructions also indicate if you have a bed skirt on the bed, it should be removed to let adequate air flow around the blowers. Well, we also have a bed skirt. So between the bed skirt and the wrong sheets, we were doomed. I was not about to go out and buy all new sheets . Sad to say we were not happy and decided to return the Dual Temp, as the experience and value did not match the high price. I agree with in other reviewer in that you should make sure you pay more attention to the reviews of people that have actually purchased and used the product versus those that have just tried it out in the store.
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had it less than a week From the time we received it in the mail to the time I called to return it, the bed is made of great quality, but the noise that comes from the machine used to cool or heat the bed kept us up at night. Our sleep #'s had to adjust with the added padding from the dual temp. I found that I was tossing and turning all night with the heat setting and could never get a complete night of peaceful sleep. So after sleeping on it for 6 nights we have decided to return it.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning Dual Comfort We've had out Sleep Number bed for over a year and love it. My only compliant was I would get hot, so I used two floor fans and a ceiling fan to keep me cool (the AC was set at 68 degrees). Needless to say, my wife slept with an electric blanket year-round. When we started getting flyers for the dual comfort, I thought it was a great idea, but was put off by the price. After giving it some thought, we decided to try it out at the store and ended up buying one. After sleeping on it for several weeks, we decided it simply doesn't cool like it's advertised. I expect much better performance out of something that costs close to $2,000. On a positive note, my wife temporarily retired her electric blanket; the dual comfort heats much better than it cools. I'd be willing to try it again, a year or two down the road. It's great technology but the bugs haven't been worked out yet (and hopefully the price will come down). They might also re-engineer how the hose plugs in because it's hard to keep the fitted sheet on the mattress. One point of caution in reading the reviews . . . note the people who tried it at the store and plan to purchase it, versus those who have personal experience.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it We've owned the sleep number beds for several years now. Living in a hot climate, with increasing energy bills, we thought this would be a good way to stay cool, a way to keep the AC temp turned up, turn off the overhead fan. We ordered it, tried it for near a month and a half, but had to return it. It was not living up to our expectations. We were both still incredibly hot. The longer you laid in the same spot, the hotter you became. The cool air that was forced through would keep the air cool where you were not touching. It never forced the air UNDER your body. The fact that they used memory foam is probably the main number one reason for being as hot as we were. Had they used the same cooling foam they use in their CoolFit pillows, this may have alleviated the temperature issue both my husband and I had. I couldn't imagine how this will be in 5 years when I start getting hot flashes. And no, it didn't save on our electric bill. we had the pump on high, the AC set to normal, and the overhead fan still on. It was not saving any electricity.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dual Temp is over priced and underwhelming My wife and I recently purchased the Dual Temp only to find it riddled with problems. Units constantly have to be reset and unplugged, or remove the remote batteries, because they won't respond to the remotes or they won't turn on at all. We found it impossible to enjoy the actual bed as the Dual Temp is hard and uncomfortable and doesn't conform to the actual sleep number bed. The actual cooling ability is utterly non-existent. You would have better cooling results setting a fan at the foot of your bed to blow air under your sheets. There is very little air output and it's not nearly as cold as they make it out to be in the show room. This product is not worth the price or headache and does not perform as advertised. If you buy it, buy it new as they will not take it back after you are dissatisfied with it's performance.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money I bought this thinking that it would great, went through the reviews, and said OK I will give it a try since you can try it for 100 days... Well I did not like it, I did everything it said, and it just did not get cool enough.. So I called to set up a return and was told "sorry for your luck but since it was bough on line you can not return it". I will never get another product from sleep number again!!! SO DISAPOINTED!!
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bed cooling I am not happy with this purchase at all. It is not cooling the bed like I'm hoping it to. I called customer support to see if I'm doing anything wrong. All the trouble shooting she read to me , I did it right except one minor little issue that my house is 73 instead of 72 degrees. I don't think it's a reason for not cooling. Pump works great, it just not doing the job to paid almost $2000.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's a nightmare I've had this bed a lil over a month and the dual temp has not worked right since day one, I've had it replaced and I'm now having problems with the second one. It sometimes works and sometimes don't. We have to reset constantly to get both sides to work this has not been worth my money. I'm gonna have to return this product 1700.00 for this and it hasn't worked right since day one.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea - not quite ready for prime time My wife and I tried the Dual Temp for 3 weeks and it was very inconsistent in its performance. I had to wake up several times a night to "reset" the control.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too expensive for the quality! We've had the DualTemp for more than a year. Believe the reviews that warn you about the lumpy foam layer in this topper. The "swiss cheese" foam is thin and cheap. It rolls up and bunches even if you are not using an adjustable bed. It seems that if you do not sleep as still as a corpse the foam is going to bunch up every night. The foam is also very thin and "cheap", it doesn't cushion your body from lying on the rather stiff units that the air pumps through. We've only had this a little over a year and now my husbands remote won't work and just displays an ER, which is upsetting because he enjoyed the unit more than I do and loved to warm his side before snuggling in. This mattress topper is almost $2000 and the quality is not there for the price! The noise did not bother us but we are used to sleeping with an a/c unit running several months of the year. I think if Select Comfort found a thicker, firmer foam layer that they could "swiss cheese" and pad the unit with it would help a lot. They might also consider offering replacement pads (at a very reasonable price - since the customer has already shelled out an awful lot of money for this topper) since the pad not only lumps and shifts, it also seems to have stretched out and is not easy to adjust back into the unit after a short time. We probably should have returned it.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sleep Number Dual Temp Layer I bought this because when I fall asleep I overheat. I borrowed the money to get it. Waste of money. The description of it does not tell the whole story. I turn it on it goes off, either before I fall asleep or during. It would be worth it if it stayed on or went on and off. Also it will go off for a refresh cycle but unless I tell it to cancel will stay in that cycle indefinitely so again it is not cooling. And my handheld control will also shut off for error code which is to say something is disconnected but it is not because i check everything and it stays in error and then poof goes back on. And each time it is off I overheat more sleeping on this hard pad not to mention now the foam for the cooling pad has stretched out so much it bunches under my back. And one reviewer said why can't sheets be made to accommodate the hose and the company said did not need it because it is at the bottom. No, it is at the top per instructions for adjustable beds. Good luck getting a fitted sheet on and don't expect it to stay on. And no my pad is not less than a month old.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dual Temp Layer - Poor quality. Units don't last. DONT" BUY!!!!!!! I've had my unit for 2-1/2 years now and both sides are on their 2nd motors and my side needs a 3rd motor. My warranty is just about up which really concerns me. The units are not lasting. About 6 months in ER messages are repeated and unit stops blowing cold air. Unit refreshes all day long. Repeated problems. I have a king and the top layer of the pad keep bunches up in the middle and you can't pull it flat so you have to zip apart the cover and flip it over because it seems to have "crease" memory if you just try to pull it flat. Awesome idea but very poorly designed and constructed and I don't believe thoroughly tested. They should have offered a longer warranty than just 3 years. I think they need to do considerably more testing and come up with a unit that can do what it is suppose to do and last longer than 6 months. I count on using mine every night and after my warranty is up and my units will not be replaced I will have nothing more than a fancy $2,000 mattress pad.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy and Very Hard on Your Back This was a good idea but not at all worth the price. The layer in the store seemed comfortable and quite. After we received ours found it to be too FIRM and very NOISY. It was installed by Sleep number.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont waste your time This thing is bad, super loud, layers split apart, takes hours to feel temperature change, and the cost.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted $1700 on this product I agree with the bad reviews regarding the dual temp product. It is a great idea, but the product has way too many flaws and simply doesn't work. It's a product liability issue. Sadly, I purchased mine for my queen sized bed in August 2013. It has been a disappointment from the beginning. For starters, it really doesn't produce much cool air. Yeah, you need to have it on for 30 minutes before going to bed, but once you're in bed, the cool air diminishes drastically at a rapid rate of no return...there's no getting it back. It really doesn't keep you cool. The 2 motors DO make a lot of noise; they are very loud! And Management, I don't want to hear how your company tested them and found them to be quieter than a ceiling fan. It is irrelevant. Not only is it irrelevant, but also...not true. The motors are definitely louder than a ceiling fan. Another irritating issue with said product is how it is constantly scrunching up all the time and requires me to unzip the cover and straighten out the foam. I have a Stern & Foster plush pillow top mattress and box spring, and it feels like this product has completely altered the high quality mattress. What a serious disappointment! It seems like my bed that I paid approximately $6900 (box spring, mattress, etc) has depleted in value to $2,000 due to the dual air product. It really feels like I'm sleeping on a cheap mattress now days. Hospitals have nicer and thicker foam than the dual temp product. So sad.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pad bunches up when raisng/lowering bed frequently I have had my bed for 18 months and the heating unit works pretty good.(although it is quite loud). I wasn't all that happy with it, but it was too late to return it. However, 2 months ago, I fractured my ankle in 2 places and I have been using the raising & lowering feature of my Flex Fit multiple times a day. When I do that, the Dual Temp Layer bunches up and big folds form (usually right in the middle of my back#. When my husband unzipped the unit, it is in 2 different layers which shift every time the bed is raised and lowered. I don't understand why they didn't sew the 2 pieces together to at least ensure they don't fold around each other. In addition, the salesperson lead me to believe, this was a replacement for a memory foam topper, but the memory foam is only about 1 inch thick #if that#. Don't waste your money. Buy the cool pad #if you want it cool), and buy a heating pad if you want heat. Save yourself some money.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Such a disappointment We specifically bought a sleep number bed for the dual temp. It definitely doesn't work as well as in the store, we are very disappointed. With how much it costs, we should not still be waking up in the middle of the night sweating. We are going to return this item as it is a huge disappointment.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seriously - don't buy it…..TRUST THE POOR REVIEWS So me and my wife are avid Sleep Number fans - we love our i8 bed. When I was looking up reviews for the Dual Temp online, I was reading the poor reviews with a heavy heart, but still had hope, because I enjoyed the Dual Temp in the store - for 2 mins at a time. After finally deciding to bite the bullet and purchase it, we received ours, let it air out, took out the air pumps, and put it on the bed. Horrible. It feels terrible - completely destroying the comfort of our bed. Here I am thinking, why is this so bad? Well, when I opened up the beautiful outer covering, I noticed the insides were a grid-like structure to distribute the air evenly (that's fine) and then a piece of foam. NOW HERE"S THE ISSUE - the foam that is inside of this is not a nice piece of foam that contours to your body - it's not even as nice as the bottom layer of your mattress (that's below the air chamber). Now, for about 50% of the price of my ENTIRE i8 mattress, you'd think there'd be at least 1 1/2" piece of foam that didn't sound like tissue paper when you moved on the bed. This was about the quality of soft packaging foam. DONE - We took it off the bed after 1 night (that was terrible), and returned it very soon. This is not something that gets worn into - it's just poor quality. Save yourself the $80 initial shipping and $30 return shipping - and just trust the many poor reviews on this website. If you're still wondering how it actually worked - it did work, if you left it on max for 30 minutes with the sheets over it. Once you got in the air felt nice, but after about 10 minutes, no more cool - you can't feel the air moving. For the amount of noise that came with the fans (even under the bed) it is not worth it. Also, WAY louder than air conditioner or ceiling fan. Sorry Sleep Number - awesome idea - poor execution.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It doesn't cool off the whole chamber just the top where the air comes out. Same with the heat. Bunches up and doesn't stay in place. Deffinately not worth the money.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money In the store, the sheet was fluttering because so much air. And it was so cold I said it would be too cold and sales girl showed how it can be changed. We couldn't wait to use it. No worries for being too cold. We both woke up sweating! Our sheets didn't flutter. We ran it 2 hrs before climbing in and we had sheet and light blanket as we were told. I cried in the night thinking all the money we spent! Also it is super flimsy so you LOSE the firmness of the mattress underneath. We are able to return it AT OUR expense and after many frustrating phone calls!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Foam topper bunching and sliding I bought this back in the winter and really enjoyed having a warm bed. Now that we have hit summer in Texas the moving of the air is nice but the foam cover slides and creates folds in the cover. Every time you get out of bed you have to pull the base and foam topper out of the middle of the bed and flatten it out. I am very surprised at the poor quality and the fact the foam is not holding up to being slept on. I am afraid I made a expensive decision to buy a first generation of a product that is not consumer ready.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Technology The whole premise of sleep number beds is to conform to your body since everyone is different, etc. Sleeping on this pad is like sleeping on a piece of plywood-there is no give to it at all, even when I lowered my sleep number down really low the pad was in the way of providing any comfort at all, it is really hard and I woke up sore throughout the night. I wish I would have known this before, because I would not have bought it. Also, the fan is loud. Really poor technology. Not worth the $$.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the price We have been sleeping on a Sleep Comfort P5 with the Dual Temp Layer for 4 weeks. When I tried out the Dual Temp in the Sleep Number store, I was extremely impressed at how incredibly warm it felt the instant I laid on it. I pretty much forced my husband to swallow the $1700 price tag. We knew we could no longer use our micro fleece sheet set, so we purchased a really nice 1800 thread count set (elsewhere). Being that we live in Northern Minnesota it's quite cold this time of year. We get home from work and turn on the Dual Temp to its maximum heat setting - we both enjoy a very warm bed when we first get into it - and it would be on for an average of 4 hours before we went to bed. After 4 hours the chill was not present, but the bed wasn't "warm" either, the temperature was less than body temperature as it still felt too cool on the skin. I set the timer for my side to run for 8 hours, I would awaken during the night because it was too hot, and according to the timer on the remote, it was still scheduled to run for an additional 1 hour and 40 minutes +/-. So total running time on the maximum heat setting was about 10 hours before I felt too hot. My husband would set his timer for 8 - 9 hours at maximum heat, he had only 2 occasions where he got too hot during the month we have been using it. He feels that it just never got warm enough for his liking. When we initially set up the Dual Temp we placed the fill tube end at the foot of the bed since that was supposed to be where it would be the warmest. This made sense to us since we both have cold feet by bedtime. Even doing that, the foot end of the bed was not warm enough - even on cold feet - upon initially getting into the bed. This also keeps the 'noise' away from our heads and the noise was never a problem. It sounds like a muffled fan on low. My husband contacted the online chat Customer Service to inquire if there was a setting that could be changed somewhere within the fill unit box to increase the heat and the person never indicated if this was an option, but instead recommended that we change our sheets to a thinner, more breathable thread count. What is interesting to note is that our bed consists of 1. the P5 mattress 2. the Dual Temp Layer 3. the fitted sheet 4. The top flat sheet 5. a thermal blanket 6. a 1 1/2 inch thick comforter - - and with all of that, there is still a rise of the covers when the Dual Temp is on, due to the air flowing through. So the concept of changing the sheets to a more breathable thread count made absolutely no sense. When my husband called Sleep Number to arrange to return the Dual Temp, the gal offered to send out a sheet set that Sleep Number sells and recommends for use with the Dual Temp Layer. We did decline, particularly due to the reasons mentioned above. We feel that after spending a huge sum of money on this particular add-on, it is just not worth what we received. The technology is just not there. The remote should have an actual temperature setting, not just low, medium and high, so that each person can regulate their side to meet their personal comfort needs. The heat that comes out is not enough to permeate through to warm up the bed enough. If it is mandatory to purchase the recommended sheet set from Sleep Number, that should be disclosed at the time of purchase. I personally would have opted not to purchase the Dual Temp Layer if that would have been mentioned because the sheet sets available in the store were $250. At that point we would have had to spend $1950 to be able to effectively use the Dual Temp, and had only 1 set of sheets for it. That's way too much in my opinion. The length of time it takes to heat up is ridiculously long. Granted, my husband and I must have been spoiled by the dual control mattress heater we had on our old bed, but having the same routine (turning it on when we got home) that bed was very warm - which we welcomed when first climbing in. We just haven't been able to get even remotely close to that with the Dual Temp Layer. We are returning ours, and rather than having spent $1700 to heat our bed, we will use either an electric blanket or a mattress heater and save about $1600. We will probably also add a mattress cover of some sort as well. Because Sleep Number doesn't accept returns to our local store, we do have to pay 29.99 shipping to return the Dual Temp.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from do not buy under engineered product overpriced and does not deliver
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No difference I received my Dual Temp layer three days ago and am disappointed to say that I don't feel ANY difference in temperature. I bought this mostly to stay cool at night but so far, three nights and I've still been hot. When I hold my hand over the pad, I can barely feel any air flowing. Then, I put a sheet over it and feel nothing. Perhaps I need to give it some more time but so far, this seems like a big waste of money
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work like the display in the store. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Feels nothing like the one in the store! I initially bought a P5 bed from sleep number and both my wife and I slept on it for around 2 weeks. I do not do well with heat and the P5 was like sleeping on a bed of coals. I keep my air set on 70 and the bed would be cool when I got in but within 10 minutes it was an oven. Kicking the covers off does help but not with the areas of the mattress you are laying on. After this I decided to exchange the bed for the dual temp layer. I kept my old mattress and box springs. My wife liked the dual temp layer because of the heat function. She could set it on 1 and sleep through the night just fine. I would turn the units on about 2 hours before bed and set my side to max cool, again with my A/C set to 70. The bed would be ice cold when you get in but within 10 minutes I am kicking off the covers which defeats the purpose of the dual temp layer. I toss and turn in my sleep as well which causes the foam layer inside the layer to move and bunch up. The only way to fix it is to unzip and readjust it. Doing this every night is a pain. The zipper has excess fabric behind it and the fabric catches the zipper. The zipper then gets stuck and is a pain to get unstuck. You can trim the excess material to make having to adjust the foam every night easier if you like. I rated the comfort as fair because the heat function seemed to work well for my wife. I rated the Quality as poor due to the issues with the foam and zipper, and I rated the value as poor since I do not believe something that cost $1900.00 should be this poorly made. The only thing good about Sleep Number was their customer service, but even that was not worth the $500.00 in non-refundable costs (i.e delivery, return shipping, and non returnable merchandise).
Date published: 2013-07-24
  • 2016-10-01T09:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_dualTemp, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Price:$999.99 - $1999.99

SALE  $999.99 - $1999.99

Reg. $999.99 - $1999.99

    Product Features

    The revolutionary temperature balancing layer that can be added to any mattress brand or adjustable base. It’s a new degree of Sleep. 


    Dual-sided so each of you can set your ideal temperature. ActiveAir™ technology lets you heat or cool each side. The heating and cooling source maximizes airflow and minimizes noise for optimum performance. Evenly distributes temperature for head to toe comfort.



    • Fan Room-temperature air circulates underneath you. It may feel cool.
    • Heating/Cooling Use the up/down buttons to select from three levels of warmth or cooling
    • Enter your name to personalize your remote
    • Timer allows for automatic shut off in one to nine hours


    Sleep Number Mattress Size Guide

    Sleep Number® beds are available in standard industry sizes, and will fit into traditional frames and furniture sets.

    1.King (Eastern)/Split King 76" x 80"
    2.California King 72" x 84"
    3.Queen 60" x 80"
    4.Full/Double 54" x 75"
    5.Twin 38" x 75"
    6.Twin Extra-Long 38" x 80"

    Measurements are provided in inches.

    1-4 feature dual adjustability
    3-6 are available with a single chamber


    Product Reviews

    Product Reviews

    Product Q&A

    Product Q&A

    Sleep Number
    Feel, see, and hear the difference
    You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store
    $999.99