MATTRESS PADS & TOPPERS

Sleep Number® In Balance Layer

Sleep Number ® In Balance ™ Layer is rated 2.6875 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what is advertised I'm a very hot sleeper while my husband is a cooler sleeper. Not sure how this material works to keep him warm & me cool but it's awesome & provides a great night of sleep.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, not a miracle We are very hot sleepers and decided to give this a try. It works very well for the first 30 minutes to an hour of laying on it, then it warms up yes, but it's still cooler than when we were sleeping without it. I feel like it has improved my sleep and helped me sleep cooler through the night. Expecting it to stay COLD the entire night I feel like is having unrealistic expectations. We also washed it with no problem and it did not affect its performance. I'll probably be buying the sheets next as every little bit helps in the dead of Texas summer!
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the one After trying the total protection mattress cover and being unhappy with it, we exchanged it for this one and it was the right choice for us. We like the coolness of the pad and the softness of it. It was the right one for us.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just What I needed I sleep hot in the summer time.. I needed something to help keep me cool at night. I'm not sure if weight or age matters but I am a medium sized woman middle aged and this works GREAT! I would get so hot at night it would keep me awake & this worked wonders! It's expensive but I researched & this was the only thing that was like a thin mattress pad so I didn't have to add too much thickness to my bed!! I am considering getting a pillow case too!! just waiting for a sale..
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sweating more We love our Sleep Number (iLE) and the Sleep Number products are of great quality. We haven't found the in-balance to pull heat from us. In fact, we wake up frequently because we are hot. I wish I could have put "Not Sure" for recommending this to a friend. Quality wise, it's great. Cost is high, but the quality matches it. I'm just not sure it's performing in the manner it was advertised to us.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as expected At first getting into bed the temp is very comfortable. After several hours I am sweating. To me this layer retains your body heat.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works ... until it doesn't I got this when we first purchased our bed and it worked great. I, like a lot of people, get a little over-heated at night and was looking for something to help alleviate that as much as possible. At first, this cover did seem to keep me cool, well, at least just long enough to fall asleep. I still got a little warm during the night however. It just didn't seem to over-ride body temperature (or at least my body temperature), so the all night long cooling aspect or "body temperature control" I was looking for wasn't as I had hoped. But on a hot summer day it was nice getting into bed that felt cool. And this cover did do that. For a time at least. Sadly, after about two or three weeks I noticed the cooling effect I felt when first getting into bed wasn't as strong for me as it was originally. Then, after about a month, it just stopped being there for me at all. No more sliding into a nice, cool, crisp bed. No, it was now just another sheet. Maybe I just got use to it or my body changed or ... yeah ... either way, be aware that you may not find as much of a "cool feel" over time and I found the "balancing" aspect of its temperature control to be minimal at best at the onset and non-existent over time. Shame as I really wanted this to work.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit correctly Mattress Pad doesn't fit surely and is just a hot mess. I wish it fit better. It's not worth the hundreds of dollars.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Happy at first, now sad. We are definitely "hot" sleepers and this layer worked great at keeping us cool... until... we washed it. The description says it will still keep it's cooling property after you wash it but we did not find that to be true at all and are so disappointed. We washed it according to the instructions on the tag but it's barely cool anymore. And of course, we are outside of the 30 day mark. Bummed.
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work I purchased this as the sales lady advised me it would help me with my night sweats. I told her I was too young to be menopausal and needed something to keep me cool. I purchased this along with the foam pillows and this makes me sweat more and the pillows have my shoulders hurting. I wish I could find a product that actually works
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money I was told this would help keep the bed and me cool. I sleep in one spot and wake up very hot. When I move the rest of the bed is cold. what a shame. Not worth the $$
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it's cracked up to be We had purchased the in-balance mattress pad with our bed about 1 1/2 years ago. When first purchased, it seemed to work great. During the summer, it was helpful although we didn't realize the benefits when the weather was moderate or cooler. Summer has come back around again and it's not working at all. In fact, the bed seems hotter than it would be without and we are going to remove pad to see if it makes a difference. This seemed too good to be true when we bought it and it turned out to be exactly that. Construction is great, but the material doesn't do what it's advertised to do.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't cool either of us, at all We purchased this with our new mattress. My husband typically "sleeps hot" so we were looking forward to this product. Unfortunately, neither of us has noticed a difference at all - he is still sleeping hot, and I am in no way any cooler than I ever was. We'd return it in a New York Minute for our money back, if it were possible.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not Work At All We have had this for quite some time. My husband and I noticed it does not keep us cool at all. I called to asked about it and they asked if I had washed it, as this would help bring the coolness back. I did as I was told. It does not feel cool in any way so I put it away because the stirrup straps don't keep it on the mattress. I noticed we are starting to feel hotter again, now that the weather is warming so I looked for it. I found it in a sleep number plastic bag and wasn't sure if it is it. I looked on this site to identify it and decided it is in fact "it", so I decided to write a review. I remember that it felt cooler for the first few nights and that was it.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells awful, no help. I've had this for a few weeks now and can't continue to even have it in my house. It smells like wet paint. Off gassing horribly. It's too thin to provide any real cooling airflow anyway. I still sweat like crazy (on this bed only) on any surface that's touching the bed. Too bad.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth purchasing! Thought this would help with keeping me cool, but it does not. It is cool when I first get in bed but after a couple of hours it is not cool. I even bought the pillow cover case and it does not work. Not worth the money!
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed In Balance layer is cool at first contact, but portion in contact will warm quickly due to your body heat. Still woke up sweaty the other night.
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work as Advertised I read the reviews and although they were mixed I decided to try it. This product does not work as advertised. The pad does nothing to cool off the heat from the memory foam. Very disappointed I spent the money.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work It doesn't work. I don't see how this is getting any positive reviews. It initially feels cool but after being in one spot for any amount of time, it actually gets hotter than the mattress alone. We have only had it for a few days so we will give it a little more time, but I don't see how it will magically start working.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work. We purchased one within a month of purchasing our bed, as our bed sleeps very, very warm. It does not work, and did not feel like driving 50 miles to return it...strike that, could NOT return it once purchased. We spent over $150 for this pad, which didn't work, and ended up purchasing a cheap memory foam pad for $39 and it works so much better.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Hot in a Few Hours Gets very hot after a few hours, I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-02-01
  • 2016-09-26T08:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_layer-IB, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Price:$129.99 - $229.99

SALE  $129.99 - $229.99

Reg. $129.99 - $229.99

    Free Shipping

    Product Features

    Our In Balance bedding, made with Outlast®* material, features proven temperature balancing technology to absorb excess heat. You'll stay comfortable all night long, for more restorative sleep. Our In Balance layer has a 300-thread-count 100% cotton top; cotton bottom. In Balance material is part of the fabric and its temperature balancing benefits will never wash out or wear out. Filled with polyester fiberfill. Corner anchor bands hold it in place on top of your mattress pad. Anti-Microbial. Made in USA of imported materials.

    *Outlast is a trademark of Outlast Technologies, Inc.

    Warranty: 10-Year Limited Warranty

    AVAILABLE MATTRESS LAYER SIZES:
    Twin Extra-Long: 39" x 80"
    Queen: 60" x 80"
    Expanded Queen: 66" x 80"
    Eastern King: 76" x 80"
    California King: 72" x 84"

    Product care:
    Machine wash, tumble dry on low heat.

    • Minimizes temperature swings
    • A layer of comfort over your mattress pad
    • Absorbs excess heat
    • Logic™ Label makes it easier to make your bed

    Product Reviews

    Product Reviews

    Product Q&A

    Product Q&A

    Sleep Number
    Feel, see, and hear the difference
    You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store
    $129.99