INNOVATION SERIES BEDS

i10

Luxurious comfort with temperature balancing Innovation

Sleep Number ® i10 bed is rated 4.0754716981132075 out of 5 by 212.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for snugglers I've read tons of reviews for this bed and for the most part the bed is as advertised. The biggest complaint is for those of us who like to snuggle with our spouses. If you both like to sleep in the middle of the bed then steer clear of this bed. When both sleepers are in the middle if squishes the foam divider and alters the "sleep number" of both sides. If you both have drastically different numbers there's a elevation change which forces you apart. We are constantly having to refill the air bladders to remove the huge dip in our bed.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't Decide This is my second sleep number bed. Have had the first one 20 yrs. I thought I was really upgrading by buying an i8. I am so torn over this bed. Customer service had be wonderful but I still don't see that great night sleep I was hoping for. Have had the bed 8 months now and still can't recommend it. I have settled on 50 for my sleep number but still feel like I need to buy more padding. I purchased a good padded mattress pad that helped but it was also another $100 expense. I have had the chambers replaced with a zippered pair instead of the foam strip. Much better design. I still feel the foam insert is the problem with support but they must be tired of my complaints by now. I would not give the bed up because the ability to adjust the settings is valuable. I just don't see the benefits I was hoping for with comfort.
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Purchase, Terrible Experience Let me clarify this right off the bat: the product is decent, and the sales people were decent to work with. However, I view the entire experience as part of the purchase. The fact that Select Comfort pushes a dictatorship-like oversight on its products is troubling enough. Add to that the fact that they are blatantly taking advantage of their monopoly on air beds, I find it disgusting that I pay $4500 for a new mattress and cannot even get home delivery thrown in. Heck, I couldn't even get something taken off of the legs for the foundation. All I left with was a receipt for a $4500 mattress, a $160 delivery fee, $160 legs, and a free travel pillow. Really? A travel pillow? That is why I've chosen to make it point whenever someone asks about Select Comport beds to move them away from that decision only because the Corporation is disgustingly shrewd. Select Comfort may have gained my money, but they also gained a very disgruntled customer that will pass whatever negative feedback I can to anyone that will listen.
Date published: 2010-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as Great as Iwas hoping I almost returned my sleep number I8 bed. My husband and I have been eyeballing it for years, but 5 years ago decided to purchase a cheaper foam mattress. After about a year, the foam mattress started hurting my husband's back, and after about 3 years, it started bothering me. So, we broke down and bought the I8 two months ago. Out of the box and assembled, it felt like an air mattress with some padding on top. I felt a "hard" spot where my rear end met with the air chambers (when laying on my back) everytime I laid on it no matter what the sleep number was set at. My husband felt the hardness, too, but admitted he was still waking up with less pain than our previous mattress. So, we went out and bought some extra padding to stuff in one of the zippered compartments to see if that would help. After a few trial-and-errors, we settled on a 2.5" memory foam mattress topper inside under the "select comfort foam". It seemed to help a bit (the thinker foam made it so you couldn't even feel the bed adjusting and the thinner foam wasn't enough. As far as the temperature regulation, I don't see any difference in the material, much to my disappointment. We even bought the in-balance mattress pad in hopes in would help "compliment" the material on the top of the mattress. Good in teory, but doesn't work, which is too bad because I sleep hot. So, all in all, I can't say the bed is worth the price (although most mattresses are extremely overpriced anyway). It's not a bad mattress; it's just not worth $3000+ (we have a king-sized). It did seem to help my husband with is back pain, but it wasn't "life-changing" for either of us, and I sometimes think our old bed was more comfortable (which cost 1/3 of the price new). Plus, I don't feel Ishould've had to buy extra padding for this mattress which is almost top of the line.
Date published: 2010-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bunch of hidden add ons I did get the bed in less than a week. That was a plus. However I ordered the legs & brackets for the head/foot boards. After getting found out the foot boards were extra & the sales people acted like I was odd for wanting them. Then I got my pillows later in the day from the day of install. For being UPS, that was slow. I pulled the pillows out, and they were standard pillows. I ordered a king sized bed and they thought I wanted standard pillows. Now I have to wait a week to get my pillows. In addition the foundation is made of plastic. It has some rough spots on it from the mold. You will have to sand it down or ruin a pair of pants like I did.
Date published: 2010-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm not very satisfied with this bed. My husband thinks it is ok but if ur were up to me I would return it.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Memory Foam We had a Sleep Number bed for 10 years and decided to replace it with a new i10 in July, 2015. Since that time, we have already replaced the memory foam twice which should not have to be done on a bed that expensive. Has anyone else checked their memory foam to see if it is breaking down??
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If I had to do it again, I wouldn't. We purchased our i10 split king a while ago to help ease my back pain from three spinal surgeries. My orthopedic surgeon had recommended it. The comfort is okay. The adjustable feature is okay. The way the mattresses slide down and have to be pulled back into position every day is not okay, especially for people with back problems. The way the two mattresses drift apart is not okay. Many times, I have been stranded in the gap between the mattresses and have to wait for my husband to rescue me. Sounds funny, but it is no laughing matter to be stuck and in pain. There is nothing that holds the mattresses together or keeps them from sliding around. The split king has been a terribly expensive, frustrating, and painful mistake for me and if I had to do it over again today, I would not make tha mistake again.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Over priced Bought the sleep number back in May 2015. Liked at first but as the cost set in, my husband and I have been very disappointed. My husband is currently out of work and we financed almost $10,000. This bed is not worth it at all. Hind sight is 20/20. Sorry. But the bed was worth about 2500.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Happy With this Bed I bought the i8 with a flexible base and have had it for about 2.5 years and still, after all this time, I have never found a comfortable setting and my back is more sore than it has ever been. I miss the old Sealy mattress I had prior which was firm, but with a pillow top and 1/5 the cost. I invested a significant amount of money in this bed thinking it would be the last one I would buy for quite a long time so I am extremely disappointed. Now all I would like to do is sell it and go back to a traditional mattress where I slept very well.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Delivery scheduling and process not acceptable. I ended up selecting the I10 and upgraded to the adjustable frame. In general, I think the bed is way over priced but I did like the feel of the bed. My primary reason for this review is to share the experience of delivery. Considering the price of the bed (with tax over $6,500) you would think the delivery service would be top notch. In short, the scheduling department seems to have issues with delivery dates convenient for their customers but seem to focus on the dates good for their delivery teams. In addition, they didn't ship parts the delivery team needed to set up the adjustable function of the bed and now I require a second install date. The whole delivery process makes me not want the bed.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i8 bed We bought our king size i8 bed 4 years ago this December. The longer we have this bed the longer we hate it! We had a problem with the bed holding air. After many phone calls & complaining someone finally figured out it was the pump. They replaced it with charge to us. The 3" foam would give away where our bottoms lay, they replaced it 2 or 3 times. The last time they sent a different kind of foam. It is so hard that it doesn't matter what we set our sides on it is hard! The so called pillowtop has no cushion to it anymore! We spent $3,595 for this bed! Now I am looking at an expensive 4.5" mattress topper from Kohls for that has very good reviews because I'm tired of waking up every 2 hours cause my hip & shoulder hurts! We had to take our bed apart a couple of months ago to get new carpet and we couldn't believe how much plastic & foam there is to this bed! (Sleep Number delivered & put together) There's no way this bed cost anywhere near this price! We won't be buying another one or recommending it to anyone!
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A lot of hype for essentially an inflatable bed. My wife and I admired the unique technology of the Sleep Number and were excited to finally see it arrive. But neither of us have gotten a good night sleep in a full one month of ownership. It is essentially two inflatable beds set on a weak base sold to you at high price. One good thing about the bed is that it DOES do well distributing your weight and relieving key pressure points. But overall, I would not recommend this bed if you want stability coupled with soft comfort.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable We have had our bed for 7 years now and do not find it comfortable at all, certainly nothing like the commercials say. We actually look forward to our trips away to a good hotel so we can get a comfortable sleep. Our adjustable bed I feel was way too expensive for what we received. We are finally thinking about replacing it and it won't be a select comfort.
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stay away from the split First and foremost, this bed is extremely comfortable. However, because I enjoy my legs slightly elevated when I sleep, and my husband prefers his head elevated, we got the split king. This was our first mistake and the biggest headache we have had to deal with with this bed! If you are let's say, intimate, you will fall in the cracks of this bed. You have to figure out which side you want to be with your partner on. The first solution for this problem was a package of connecting brackets for the two bases. This was supposed to eliminate the mattresses from coming apart and from drifting. Easy enough- what's another $20 on top of the $8k we've spent so far? We moved into a home with hardwood floors just to find out the wheels on the FlexFit+ Base do not actually stay locked. So now on top of the brackets shifting with the bed movement, the wheels are now sliding. The solution for this is to purchase rubber caster covers for $15. Again, easy enough, but who is to say this is actually going to fix our problem? We are in South Korea and unfortunately Sleep Number will not ship to our APO, so now we must go two years with this rolling bed. Another downfall to the split king which should have been obvious to us to begin with was the fact you have to buy sheets twice, make the bed twice. Meaning you buy two twin fitted sheets, and put on two fitted sheets which can be quite time consuming. It's hardly a one person job. I am very happy with the sleep I get with the i10 split king if I am sleeping alone, but heaven forbid if I want to actually sleep beside my husband. We now wish we bought the modular base with the solid king and would advise any potential customers to do the same.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beware that Split King bed may not work...at all. We purchased the split king version because my husband and I both sleep very differently. We have 4 sleep number beds in our house. All of them were fine until this one. We were talked into getting the massage feature, etc. that are offerred on this bed, but we only use the feature that raises and lowers the bed. After 12 weeks, one side stopped working. We called only to find out that another company actually makes and services the bed. That company was very rude when we called and acted as though we were just too stupid to use the remote. The very next day the other side stopped working and is stuck in the zero gravity position. Now the rude lady was really rude. Pretty much said that was impossible. We have spoken the the technicial that will be trying to fix it and I will say he was very nice and said he will do his best to get this working since he realizes how expensive these beds are. Outside of the fact it broke down (both components), it truly is comfortable when it works and solves our sleep issues. I'm just very disappointed that we have had issues so soon and it would have been nice to know we would have to deal with a different company for servicing.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Do not purchase! I never write reviews but after spending thousands of dollars on this bed, I feel obligated to warn others. The split king with massage is not worth the money. As I wrte this, the bed is stuck in an uncomfortable position and the massage features do not work on either side. Someone is suppose to come out in a few days. Wow. It isn't even the same company as we found out sleep number doesn't really make these beds. We have had the bed for about four months. It has been nothing but trouble and I am so sorry I bought it. Will update after the next service call. We have purchased four sleep number beds. This may be the last.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not pleased Bed was too flimsy on the sides. Very little support. Felt no different than a camping air mattress with a comforter on top. We can't seem to find that ahhhh setting. It did not feel like the same mattress we fell in love with at the store. So disappointed. And the base was too over priced. Product did not meet promises.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Go for Memory Foam I start with 3 stars and go up/down based upon experience. Purchased about two years ago. My issue is the bed does not work for two. The gap in the middle has two people sleeping uncomfortably when together as such is where to people migrate. Sleeping on oposite sides is not what a couple wants to do. We end up way on opposite sides. I purchased the zippered bag set, I purchased insert to raise my side, I am 200# and my gal #110, I purchased the memory foam topper hoping to also minimize the gap. Thought about memory foam bed, wish I had done so because it probably addresses this issue. Will be stuck with thiis bed for years unfortunately unless I shell out bucks again.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Happy We purchased this bed and am on night 9 or 10! To date we are not sleeping any better and waking up with same aches and pains! Have tried all the comfort tips that I have found on line. The BIGGEST problems we are experience outside the same old aches and pains is the air chambers fluctuate A LOT! During sleeping the can go from 40 to a 100 or all the way to 0! WE are constantly waking up to readjust. This also occurs during the day when we are not in bed. So yes I am extremely disappointed and will probably return the bed even though we have to pay return shipping! To the ones that the best has made a difference in you congratulations. To the ones that join us in returning beds and learning an expensive lesson I am sorry! The bed we tried in the store felt awesome!
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth it I tried out the i8 in store- loved it. Felt like it contoured to my body and felt great. I was disappointed by night #1. It didn't feel as cushioned as the bed in-store, and was incredibly hot. I woke up drenched in sweat every single night. Customer Service exchanged my total protection mattress pad for an inBalance pad, which helped a little, but the pad fits poorly and bunched up. This is truly a glorified air mattress- a lower number doesn't feel "softer," just flatter. I have fibromyalgia and did not experience any pain relief with this mattress. Completely disappointed I have ended up paying so much for a mattress I returned.
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i8 - not what we expected We purchased the i8 after trying all of the models in the Sleep # store thinking that it made sense to spend the extra money and get a higher end model. It seemed so comfortable in the store. Unfortunately, we have been very disappointed since it was delivered 2 weeks ago. We just aren't finding it that comfortable, aren't sleeping well, still have back pain and are considering returning it or exchanging for a p5 (which was our other choice). We paid nearly $4000 for the i8 and it doesn't feel like the miracle bed we expected for that kind of investment. We've tried the Sleep # we arrived at when in the store, working with the sales consultant for several days. Then we changed the # slightly for several days, but we still just aren't finding this to be that comfortable. The bed doesn't feel as "cushiony" / comfortable as the one in the store. Anyway - I was hoping for a wonderful experience to sooth away back pain and improve our sleep - but so far, it just hasn't worked out (sadly).
Date published: 2011-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive Air Bed My husband and I purchased the I8 on February 28,2011. The delivery and set up on March 7 was great! However, the bed is very uncomfortable. It feels like an air mattress. I have tried every number and still wake up with back pains. This bed is going back soon.
Date published: 2011-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from High End, Low Comfort My husband and I purchased the i8 queen bed in July 2010. I thought the first month or so was wonderful. It did not last. I have bilateral hip pain which was determined to be from our old mattress and my side sleeper positioning require a pillow top type mattress. I am very disappointed in the lack of support my body gets from this $3000 bed, as I still have the same hip pain I had before this purchase. The hard separation foam between the two sides of the bed is not the most comfortable feature. I think the bed is otherwise good quality and for the life of the bed, only pieces need to be replaced if they fail. I have ordered the 2 inch Cool Foam mattress topper for $240 and I am praying this will give me some relief. Too bad the pillow top my bed comes with did not provide more adequate cushioning. I would not recommend these products, very unsatisfied customer!! The 30 day guarantee they offer is for exchange of another item, not a true return policy. I will post again after a month or so trial with the Foam Topper.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the high Price After purchasing the king sized version of the i8 (for a whopping 3700$) My Husband and I were sadly UNIMPRESSED with our ability to sleep....We tried all different numbers and never could get away with a solid night of slumber. We had been excited to have a sleep number because of all the wonderful things we heard about relieving shoulder and back pain. Neither of us was able to "get used" to the air mattress feel and really found that the topper to the high priced bed was much less comfortable than our old mattress. We both had more back and neck issues than before. After spending alot of time in one of the stores trying out the beds available, we decided on the i8 because of the extra padding and the cool comfort topper. (I must say, it IS cool) We ended up taking the whole thing down and getting another mattress just to get a night of sleep. REALLY???? I just can't see spending this amount of money on something that you have to try to get used to????? The pain is not worth it to us. Congratulations to all of you out there who are able to sleep on these....THEY ARE DEFINITLY NOT FOR EVERYONE
Date published: 2010-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working out I bought the i10 at the end of June and have problems. It feels nothing like the one in the show room. It feels as hard as a rock have called 2x to find out how to make it softer. Nothing is working. About ready to say good buy tpvthebred and try something else. Feel like it's causing more pain then relief. It also is beyond hot I have yet to feel the bed cool .
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Happy with Purchase My purchase was in February of 2016 My husband and I wanted to upgrade our mattress and decided to try Sleep Number. After over two hours in their store we were torn between a lower cost mattress and base and the much more expensive i10 and flex fit3 base. During the entire sales process our sale person (Vanessa) who was very nice kept referring to their 100 night guarantee. If we weren't happy with our selection we could return or exchange it. With that peace of mind we opted for the more expensive choice along with sheets, pillows, pillow protectors and a mattress cover. The total cost was more than the cost of my first new car. A little sticker shock to say the least, but a good night's sleep is important and, after all, if we could return it why not? The delivery process was amazing. It was faster than expected and the delivery guys were nice. They didn't provide much education around how to use SleepIQ or setting up the bed remotes (as I was told they would do) but with the instruction manual in hand I figured it out. After several days, I knew the bed wasn't for me. I have shoulder issues on my right side and the pain and the pressure on that shoulder was pretty severe. I tried making the mattress firmer and then softer and adjusting the head up and down. Nothing worked. Additionally I had some issues with the overall quality of the bed - - noisy air pump when inflating, bed would soften over time like it wasn't holding the air, very warm sleeping temperature even though I was told the mattress had cooling technology, not a true plush top mattress as I could feel the "wrinkles" in the mattress below the surface when not fully inflated, massage unit was so loud that it wasn't even not relaxing and even on the softest setting the mattress felt uncomfortable and hard in places - - maybe it was those "wrinkles") So, to me, the bed felt like a glorified hospital bed, not the quality sleep experience I was looking for given the price I'd paid. Even my Sleep IQ numbers showed a less than wonderful sleep experience. They would typically range in the low 70's and 60's, no where near the 90's I was told would mean I was getting a superior night's sleep. And, for the time I've had the bed, my average SleepIQ was 74 and it showed I was restless an average of 1 hr and 11 min per night. needless to say, we contacted customer service to take advantage of the 100 night risk free benefit. That experience was also less than stellar. Let me just say our "Risk Free" purchase was anything but. But that's a whole different story.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy with my bed. My bed is two years old and I am in the market for a new bed again. What a lot of money to spend only to be ,looking for a new bed.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing Bought King Split I-10 in May. Have had service techs out about 1- 1/2/month. Problems that keep occurring are beds are sliding down below headboard allowing pillows to fall to the floor. Split kings will not stay together and separate over 5 inches. The latest problem in addition to these issues not being resolving is the middle of one of the mattress is now "caving in" like an old worn mattress. Called their company over a week ago and told me a supervisor would call me back on Monday or Tuesday before Thanksgiving, still have not received a call. Called again tonight and their excuse is warehouse move, new system, etc and have to make more customer service managers. Their technicians do not know what they are doing due to a mass hiring and poor training per another customer service agent I spoke with a week ago. I was offered to look at another bed but bought the I-10 after looking at the other options, why would I want to downsize other than maybe those beds do what the company promised. They sent another survey but they are asking for full disclosure of date of birth. Don't think so on this one.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sleep IQ? Bought this bed 4 months ago. A month ago the sleep iq stopped working and continues to not work.
Date published: 2015-10-17
  • 2016-09-26T08:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_204
  • loc_en_US, sid_i10, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

15-inch duvet style Pillowtop with an advanced temperature balancing sleep surface that absorbs excess heat and releases it to keep you sleeping comfortably

Ergonomic, dual-layer design is reversible on each side so you can individualize your comfort with conforming memory foam and a soothing layer of advanced PlushFit® foam

Comes with two simple wireless remotes that remember you and your ideal support, and guide you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$3649.99