MEMORY FOAM SERIES BEDS

m7

Memory foam that cools and contours and adjusts

Sleep Number ® m7 bed is rated 3.6153846153846154 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second SN bed We have a more basic Sleep Number for many years and liked it. We needed another bed to replace a conventional mattress/box spring. Ended up we bought the M7 and tossed the conventional. The new M7 is now our primary bed. So, we visited a store and checked out the various models, we liked the memory foam models and decided that we would go with either the best pillow top or M7. I was concerned about the cost overall and pushed for the P6. Of course I lost and we bought the M7. However, we bought it on line rather than going Bach to the store. There is no advantage to buy at the store that we found, they do not stock the beds.the purchase experience was great, a live on line person helped us through the process and it went smoothly and quickly. The bed arrived in about a week with no shipping issues. Assembly is easy, very easy in fact and all parts fit properly. In actual use I find the number for this bed quite different than with our older model. I believe this is because the foam makes the bed firmer on it's own. We had no odor issues as some have mentioned. I find the bed warmer than I like, but that may be because we also changed all the covers to the winter stuff at the same time. We really like the fact that one person's restlessness does not affect the other, each side is well isolated. We also see no issues in the middle part of the bed, it seems sturdy and does not collapse like the old model in the center. My biggest issue with the bed is that includes only one remote, for this amount of money, there should be one for each side and it should not cost $150 for another. That really bugs me! That is the reason it didn't get a higher rating. Also watch their sales and financing offers, it can make a big difference in cost. I would recommend the bed if it fits in your price range.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from See prior review (Couldn't figure out how to link to prior review) Anyway, I had asked for the m7 to be replaced by the i8 but when the guys got there to set up the i8, they told me I had the m7 put together wrong. When I saw how cheap the i8 padding looked, I opted to keep the m7, but had them put it together correctly. These guys are pros - I HIGHLY recommend you go ahead and pay the extra $200 to have them put it together for you. Now, I like my m7 a lot - sleep number 50. It feels really wonderful to collapse into at the end of the day. It is no longer rock hard and actually you sink just a bit into that memory foam - not in an old couch sort of way, but in an 'ahhh' sort of way. I love my bed now, but I must say that it does sleep hot. There's no denying that. But if you move a bit, it will cool down very quickly so it's not difficult to sleep on at all. I'm very glad I kept it!
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Want to love it My husband and I purchased our m7 in April of 2016. While I want to love this bed and do love some things about it, it is lacking in a few areas. We are side sleepers and tend to sleep in the center of the bed cuddled against each other. The bed has the least support in the center. Having different sleep numbers doesn't help when sleeping on the side in the center. We purchased the adjustable base and love that. Once in a while we get hot, but not on a regular basis. I find that I go to sleep easily in the bed and stay asleep but have pain in my hips when I wake likely due to the lack of support in the bed. I also would like a taller mattress, this seems to skimpy in our furniture. Too expensive to not like it completely.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from thought it would be better.... we bought our bed in February and the foam is constantly shifting down; especially when we use the upright position of the bed. Is this normal?
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm happy but hubby is not! I have had shoulder and leg pain at night. I threw off the pillow on our new sleep number and I have lost those pains. My husband has back pain and has not found relief yet, we have used it 2 months. Has tried lowering and raising the number.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too hot I wake up several times every night too hot. I move to a spot that is still cool and go back to sleep. The mattress also is not flat when made, even putting the setting to 100. This makes the mattress look old and unkept. We have now ordered a second mattress pad to help the heat and if it doesn't work we are going to return the mattress.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing like the showroom floor model When my husband and I tried the bed on the showroom floor it was comfortable, wonderful and a great bed. We also decided to get the adjustable base. But after getting home we read the reviews on how people were never warned that the adjustable base was not returnable so we canceled ours before the delivery. We were never warned either. Plus we wanted to make sure we actually liked the bed before we bought the base. When they delivered it, we were surprised to see how cheap it looked. The worst part was the sleep. Our backs hurt, kept tossing and turning and waking up restless. The bed also got super hot. The air just raises or drops your hips. It makes not effect on the softness. The reason for the 3 star rating is because the customer service toll free line is just wonderful. They tried to help our bed get more comfortable by sending more memory foam and extra pieces. I though that was really great of them.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely unhappywith performance for the cost We have owned this bed for 8 months, at first the bed was nice for the first few months. The bed performs nothing like the ones in the store did. After finding our sleep number we have noticed the mattress does leak air and we must readjust it every 10-14 days. The M7 foam top continues to slide off of the mattress requiring us constantly try and reposition the top layer, as well as move round at night to find a somewhat comfortable spot. We even bought the expensive pillows that were suggested. They were TERRIBLE to sleep with, on this foam and we have gotten rid of them. We vey much want to go back to a pillow top mattress, but feel we have a bed that nobody else would want. We paid a high price for such a poor performing product. We have tried the bed settings from 45 to 70 over a period of a couple of months, with no good combination found. We have tried to give the bed the benefit of the doubt before contacting customer service. Something needs to change.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hoping that 3rd time is a charm 2008: We bought a SN 9000 model with 4" of memory foam. The foam and the plush top sank, and despite replacing the foam entirely, we gave up on it. We started again in 2012 with the M7 gel foam, Split Level King, as the gel was supposed to offer more support. The first night we knew it was not the bed for us (very hard and uncomfortable), but because we bought non-returnable adjustable bases, we didn't think we could return the bed. So we "frankenstein'd" the bed, putting 1" or 2" of memory foam on top of the gel. But I still woke up with a sore neck which then resulted in cronic elbow problems. I recently set up a video camera on a tripod and adjusted the numbers from 0 to 100; at no point was my spine anywhere near straight, there was always a dip around the waist. I could then compare this experiment to photos of my straight spine from various hotel beds where I could see that my spine is capable of being straight(!) - plus I would wake up feeling great too. Eventually I realized that the problem with the gel foam is that you set the pressure when you go to sleep, but after a few hours you sink down into it which puts you out of alignment. I added another mattress pad which gave more support and tried a few different pillows. This year, sick of the morning pain (and monthly bills for chiropractic and massage...), I've now ordered the i8 for my side, due next week. However, considering that people don't change beds for no reason, SN should have a better discount for repeat customers who got little to no value (just pain) from their bed purchase. (If you are having issues with a SN bed, try the video test: voice over it with the number you've set, and watch how your spine moves. I found it helpful to confirm my gut instinct that there was no way this bed was ever going to work for me, at any number.)
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only marketing hype My husband and I have owned our Sleep Number since Nov. 2012. The original 45-day test run was not enough time to get used to the bed, so now we've owned it for over two years and we're stuck with it and regret our overpriced investment. The only positive I can give is that we are able to adjust each side - he likes more firm than I. Unfortunately, the bed does not live up to the marketing expectations. We both suffer from back pain, which is why we purchased this bed. We have noticed no changes - in fact, worse! - than when we started even though we've periodically adjusted the settings. The hype also claims it has a cooling system. I wake up in the middle of the night in deep sweats (and I'm young!), so I was thrilled with this aspect of the bed. However, the mattress does the opposite and becomes very hot and I still wake up sweating. When we first purchased it and a rep phoned to see how we were doing, I mentioned this problem and she sent out a cooling pad, free of charge. While I was grateful for the help, this never solved the problem. Also, the hype claims that you will not feel movement on the mattress. My husband tosses and turns throughout the night, keeping me awake. I assure you - I still feel every movement. This product has not lived up to any of its promises and we regret - and are stuck with - our purchase.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very comfortable My wife and I purchased our m7 bed with high hopes, especially due to how comfortable the demo model was. But thus far, have been disappointed. We just cannot get comfortable on it, no matter what adjustments we make. We actually are no longer using the m7, and are in the process of having it returned. For the in store demo, our sleep numbers were up around 45. For in home, our numbers are down around 30. Additionally, as another reviewer posted, the number seems to more control the rise and fall of the bed/foam, and not the softness of the overall bed/matteress.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My first choice was the M7 because of how soft it felt. unfortunately it is not all about softness. I had it for about 60 days and never found any comfort. it actually increased my back problems and was very hard to stay asleep. I have recently switched to the i8 and I am hoping to find comfort in it. in my opinion if you are not sure about memory foam start with a different bed.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money unfortunately We have had this bed for exactly one year and are not happy at all! This mattress does not hold it's air. After finding our sleep number we have noticed the mattress does leak air and we must readjust it every 10-14 days. And I am already sleeping at 100, and it's not firm enough. We finally decided to strip the whole bed and check the air mattress part and there was definitely a difference in firmness of the air chamber even though it was set to 100. I already flipped the memory foam over for the more firm side and it's still not very firm. Which is annoying because the purpose if not to affect my partner's sleep.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RESPOND to too hot Check your top memory foam pad. (Get out your book that came with it) My top pad was put in upside down with non breathable side up. It is color coded. Wrote my review under M6 but bought a M7 with adjustable bed frame. Not happy. Have til June 23 to figure out if we take a loss.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not firm enough poor quality foam topper Felt great for first few months but with time with in a year the mattress became disfigured could not cover it with any sheet cover, that would not fit due to its shape. the memory form topper shifts and makes the bed uncomfortable, tried to unzip the mattress and move the foam topper but only could move it but the topper is so soft does not feel firm at all.. I regret putting my money on this bed which talks about life time warranty and covers nothing. I have owned this bed for a year. Any memory foam mattress is much better than this memory foam.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money Very poor value proposition. Associated bedding is already showing signs of wear after less than 3 months. Bed itself is not noticeably better than previous bed. Sleep IQ appears to be a random number generator and sleep tips just on a repetitive cycle and not individualized. Appearance of the product for the cost is awful. Genuine waste of money, would not expect any other product on the market place to offer so much and deliver so little. Bed is totally absent of any redeeming qualities
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Many Sleepless Nights... We purchased a SN M7 about 17 months ago from the store in Medford, OR. We tried it out, and it was very uncomfortable to us, but we were advised to keep trying different settings. By the time we decided it was really uncomfortable, we had missed the 100 day return window by 3 days. Since we had invested nearly $4,000 in this bed, we decided to try to make it work. Also, since we thought the bed was so great in the store, we got rid of our old mattress so we do not have an alternative. Now, we have tried all settings, different toppers, and added and adjustable base. Unfortunately for us, we still have trouble sleeping and we wake up in great pain no matter what we do. We are both very disappointed in the product and do not know what to do. We are considering trying to sell the bed and purchase another brand. We have resorted to sleeping on the couch and the floor. We still owe over $1,200 on this bed and cannot afford another one until it is paid off. Until then, we are sleepless and in pain. We have written the company for assistance, hopefully they will stand behind their product and do something to help us out.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot get comfortable no matter what we try. We had narrowed down our sleep purchase to either the M7 or I8 2 years ago. Unfortunately, we selected the M7. We have tried every setting possible and cannot get comfortable. Either we wake with sore backs on the lower settings or can't sleep on the higher settings. Wish we would have gone with the I8, but we are stuck now. Given that these beds are double the price of traditional mattresses, we will probably go back to a regular innerspring mattress.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Purchase Ever This has got to be the worst purchase my husband and I have ever bought. Don't expect to get comfortable as the ads indicate. You will hate it.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not be my first choice We have owned this bed for 1 year, at first the bed was nice for the first few months. After finding our sleep number we have notice the mattress does leak air and we have to readjust it every 10-14 days. The M7 foam top continues to slide off of the mattress requiring us to disable the mattress and then reassemble it. We also own the adjustable base and after a few times up and down the mattress slides all the was down to the foot board. Since the mattress is bolted to the adjustable base it is not very easy to slide back up.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from m7 got my new bed last night not sure about it woke up sore shoulders neck and back bed was to soft so put up number to 100 will give it afew more days I do have the pillows sales person suggest they are horrible far to soft my question is would I be better off with the p6 thank you
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from will cause problems as parts wear out. this adds additional cost to owing a sleep number bed
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase I ever made! First, the beds in the store have no bedding on them and feel completely different once they have the mattress pad(s) and sheets on them. Secondly, it takes forever to find what your sleep number is and by the time you have it figured out, your money back trial is long past. Finally, the bed's air system cannot keep a consistent amount of air in it! It doesn't just lose air, it also gains air! I have to check every night before crawling in what number it is at and by morning, it is different! Biggest waste of money! My most regretful purchase!
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from To replace parts I bought this bed in 2007. My pump went out on Feb 2013. I could not get a new from a store. It had to be shipped and that will take about three days!!! So I have to go without sleeping in my bed for three nights. I'm a disable Vet and I don't sleep well sitting up or on my couch. I'm so mad that I can't go to a store and exchange the broken pump for a new one. You should be able to get replacement parts from a store !!! NOT HAVE TO WAIT THREE OR MORE DAYS TO SLEEP IN YOUR BED !!!!!! I will not recommend this bed to anyone because of this. I will be buying a new bed with in the next 30 days. I will also put this on Facebook so everyone knows NOT TO BUY THIS BED !!!!
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst bed purchase ever We bought a sleep number bed 4 years ago, and It finally took 8 months to realize this was a huge mistake, I could not get to sleep at all, and kept going out on the sofa to sleep, and then my Husband finally asked me what was going on and I told him it was the bed, I hated it!!! So we ended up giving it away to my son who had just moved out and needed a bed, and than we bought a memory foam bed, a year ago and is like heaven, I sleep wonderfully well now! Make sure you have a 60 - 90 trial with this bed, it is not what it would seem,
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ugh! I bought an M7 with high hopes based on the pics and description. I've wanted a Sleep Number for quite some time but was put off by the cost. I am SO DISAPPOINTED!!! (I wish I could post a pic!) I put it together myself - was very fast and easy but nothing in the mattress fit!!! The foam parts that are supposed to make the mattress square just absolutely did not fit inside the mattress cover so everything had to be crammed in there an inch at a time. Did finally get it done. THEN (!), the memory foam layer covers approximately 65% of the top of the bed, leaving about 10 inches uncovered at top or bottom. I centered it to be able to sleep, but it really is an epic fail. I'm 5'6", sleeping on a queen - when centered, my pillow is on the foam but my feet are not - the foam is not long enough to support both my head and my feet. The pillow keeps falling off the memory foam, leaving me pitched and hurting! If I center myself carefully and don't move too much, I can sleep on the bed for a few hours, but it's like sleeping on heated granite and eventually I have to move to the guest bedroom (where a 16 year old conventional bed is about 10000% more comfortable). I've been sleeping in there A LOT. I have requested an exchange for an i8 and am very hopeful that will be more comfortable and not so ugly. I'll post a review on that when it finally comes - and I'm paying to have them put it together to see if it's any less ugly. I guess if you like a very, very, very, very firm mattress, and you bought some extra foam of the same thickness and stuck it in there, this might be the bed for you. BTW - changing the sleep number (which works perfectly) does not affect the rock-hardness of the memory foam in any way whatsoever. You just sink or rise.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soooo not comfortable!! I have several friends who own the older sleep number beds and they LOVE them. We have had our bed for 16 days and every night one of us is complaining! Do yourself a favor...stick with the older models!!!!!! The memory foam is so NOT comfortable!!
Date published: 2012-02-05
  • 2016-09-26T08:46CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_m7, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

12-inch profile with exclusive CoolFit memory foam with gel technology for a cool sleep surface

Naturally contouring and breathable for soothing sleep

Refined styling and soft knit fabric

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$2499.99