PERFORMANCE SERIES BEDS

p5

Softness and more proper alignment

Sleep Number ® p5 bed is rated 4.019704433497537 out of 5 by 406.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Two spines,two controls! My husband's hip pain has subsided considerably. My back pain is much better also.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features We got it a few months ago and still doing good. Took about a month to adjust #
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Current bed husband loves I have had two car accidents since the first bed purchased and now suffer from Chronic Pain and nerve damage. Now that they have an adjustable one I want to buy one that will adjust foot and head plus put no pressure on my body which one would others suggest please.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RV Good We have only slepted on the mattress a few times. It is in our 5 the wheel trailer. It replaced the one that was originally in there. It was bad. The other sleep number we have in the house is really great. We love it.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We are a little over a month in on buying our king sized bed. I love the extra room that we have and being able to adjust our individual side. We are still working to find that best number for sleep. The only problem with the mattress that I am experiencing is that on my husband's side of the bed isn't exactly flush with the frame and it causes the upper portion of the mattress to sort of roll off the edge of the frame a little. Every morning I have to push his side of the mattress back to the center of the bed. It is also a struggle to put the sheet on when time to change. A lot more of a chore than a regular bed. Other than these issues, I like being able to raise up in bed to watch TV and to adjust if I am not resting comfortably.
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less Back pain fasho Two words. King size. Loves it so far. It's been almost 2 1/2 months. Haven't slept this good in years!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features I bought my bed 2 months ago an I enjoy it. Love the foot and head adjustability. Took some time to find my number, but I think I have it now. Compfy.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improved sleep I bought the mattress after severe sciatica. I was on a 20 yr old mattress. Pain never stopped. After having the P5 for a month I was sleeping with a lot less pain. Price seemed high but I am sleeping better and feel rested every morning. Sleep IQ is good info to have.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect comfort-- every night! We purchased the p5 about 2 months ago. My husband was sleeping better right away. I, however, have a chronic health condition which causes me to be in bed more than the average person. The comfort insets that are placed under the mattress topper are a necessary thing so that the topper itself doesn't compress from over use. They are free if you have this issue. Great customer support!
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from P5 - Doing the Trick! Owned now for 1 month. Had a bad back from old foam mattress. Crank this one up to 90 and no more back pain! Only issue is that it seems over time to lose a little air. I reset the number about every week or two.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not thick enough Initially we were drawn the P5 for the price, we wanted a good mattress and this was the top selling Sleep Number bed, and to be honest we try to be frugal with our money. Well we purchased this bad boy and have been sleeping on it for a month or so now. Honestly, at first neither me nor my wife were too sure about it. We seemed to be chasing our numbers night after night but are now sleeping pretty comfortably just took some time to get used to the feel. My only issue with this model is it needs to thicker, my wife's number is 25 and when she is changing positions through the night she can feel the base under her but she is getting descent sleep now. But for that reason I think we are going to upgrade to the I8 while we still have a 100 day trial. As for me, I am constantly changing my number, I have gone from 25 to 85 and finally settled on 65 as my number. In the store my number was 35. I have been using the Sleep IQ to help me adjust a little but really just going by feel mostly. The bottom line is the beds don't seem to be the same as what you test on the floor. When you do go to the store, plan on a little time in there. Don't just lay on the bed for 13.8 seconds and think you can feel the bed. Let them assess your number then tell the sales person you're going to browse around, lay on the beds you're considering for 10 minutes or so and change positions to really get a feel for it. These beds do have odd little quirks where the bed will gain firmness through the night sometimes. At times its really unresponsive to the change in your sleep number and other times it seems too responsive where it seems to drop so fast you can't actually feel a difference in the firmness. If you have a low sleep number go thicker so you can take full advantage of the 100 day trial instead of wasting a month on a bed you're going to exchange. Plan on it taking a couple weeks to really find a good number that keeps you comfortable in all of your normal positions, in the same token plan on waking up a little stiffer and even sore while you're finding that good number, when you do find it you'll sleep good. As for the pillows... they are pricey but I love mine, it has a memory foam outer with a down alternative inner and I couldn't be happier with my support. My wife on the other hand seems to think a pillow should be made out of pixie dust and allow you float in mid air while you dream of your "happy place". She just exchanged hers soft to the softest possibility they offer that being down inner and down outer. Keep in mind though, the pillows are a 30 day trail and exchange only, you cannot return them for a refund.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good I bought this bed and the first week was ok at best, However after a week the bed is wonderful. Both my wife and I love the bed. I have adjusted the bed a few times because of how my back feel it is is great, My wife has done the same. Aside from the cost the bed is great. It is so true you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great mattress, other products... so so. My wife & I just recently bought a Sleep Number P5, California king, split top, adjustable frame bed. I love the fact that we can not have 2 different levels of firmness or softness. I have a back disability and having the ability to change the firmness really helps me a lot. We also got the adjustable frame where both heads can go up & down independent of each other, and the feet move all at once. It's great for reading & watching TV. I've found that I sleep better with the head of my bed raised just a little. The only problem we've encountered so far is that we could not qualify for enough credit to get the Dual Temp mattress pad (the one where it cools & heats each side of the bed with a temperature controlled air blower). What we got instead was a pad called "In Balance Layer" that's supposed to provide "cool comfort." Unfortunately, my wife still get extremely warm at night, so much that we have the air conditioner set very low--all the while I'm using 3 blankets to keep from freezing! lol We like bed. We love all the different ways to adjust it to our sleeping needs. Just wish we could have gotten the Dual Temp too cause then we would be on cloud nine at night!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Utilizing our 100 days although the bed is awesome My boyfriend decided to purchase the P5 in the split king with a flex fit 3 base. We are in a committed relationship so I went along with him to purchase the bed. Our shopping experience was excellent. We tried many beds and were most satisfied with the gentle firmness of the P5. The salesman didn't pressure us in any way. The bed was delivered before our promised date, another plus! It took a week for us to sleep on the bed due to my boyfriend moving. We both struggled at first, his sleep number had been 35 and mine 60 in store. After 2 weeks, I decided to start playing around with mine and now sleep best at 25. He changed his as we and he's sleeping better at 55. So don't be afraid to try new settings but allow plenty of time to decide, more than one night. I went down to 45, then 35, and landed at 25. I tried 20, and that was too low. Our salesman encouraged us to try different settings before making a decision. Our only issue, the reason why we are exchanging puts is the split king. We aren't the cuddliest people in the world but the split king doesn't let us have the option should we want to snuggle. Some might think it's a good thing that we don't even feel one another in the bed but it's created a distance between us. Night time is where we are together-he works extremely long hours. And on the nights I stay at my own house, he says the split king prevents him from lying in the middle of the bed like he used to. Yes, he has his sleep number but he feels confined. I've thought the best way to describe it is that we have two twin beds pushed together. We came from a queen bed so we knew it'd be an adjustment but we feel like we've bought two seperate beds--and for 8k, he wanted a better sleep experience, which included his girlfriend. The customer service rep was completely understanding and gave me no question about our desire to exchange. I felt guilty as did my boyfriend and neither of us wanted to say something but I'm glad we did because the bed itself is wonderful. Once, I was really sick and I slept on 100--it helped me so much. And during my female time--I enjoy having the bed in tv position on 100, takes the pressure off my painful areas. It was a surprise that the split was what we didn't like--we thought it'd be the comfort or lack there of. But all in all, we are happy customers. My only sadness is now we can get king sized sheets from any place and he wants to get cheaper ones! The sleep number bedding is so comfortable!
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacing an old Select Comfort This queen P5 replaces my 14 year old Select Comfort mattress - that's what they were called before they started using numbers. The only complaint I ever had with my original mattress - other than age - was the valley between the two air chambers. I solved that problem by purchasing this bed with a single air chamber, so there is no valley AND I LOVE IT!! I live with injuries sustained in combat and this is the only type of mattress that I have ever been able to sleep on with any degree of comfort. I highly recommend this mattress, especially if you have any kind of back pain. When you find your correct sleep number, it's like sleeping on a cloud. If I have any complaint at all with this new mattress it is the remote control used to change the pressure, and that is the only reason I didn't give this mattress 5 stars. The first night I tried to change the pressure I knocked the remote off my night stand onto the floor and had to get up and turn on the light to find it. I liked the old system with the controls that I could attach to my headboard so I knew where it was any time of the night.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unbelievable comfort compared to spring mattress 2 years ago my wife and I went on our honeymoon to Aruba and stayed at the Radisson Hotel. The first night when we went to bed, we woke up and I said, "Man I haven't slept this good in a long time." My wife agreed. I pulled back the sheets and noticed a remote control and I told my wife, " This is one of those sleep number beds that we used to see late night on TV on those infomercials. When we got home from our honeymoon, I did some online research and decided to buy the bed. We bought the P5 and added the precision comfort controls which has the controls to make the head of the bed and the foot of the bed adjustable, like a hospital bed. Controls were an expensive add-on, but we can sit up and watch TV or read a book in comfort. The old bed we had gave me neck and back issues, which are no longer and issue with the sleep number bed. To me, it's essential an expensive, glorified air mattress, but it works. Definitely worth the price. (paid around $2700 total) Never had an issue for the two years that we've had it.
Date published: 2011-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pain Pain Go Away! I replaced a one year old Serta matress that had my lower back in extreme pain. I would regularly get up several times each night with painful muscle spasms in my lower back. It was even more difficult to get up. Sleep was becoming impossible. I made the sacrifice and purchased the Sleep Number. After quickly settling on sleep number 35, the back spasms have all but gone away. I find it amazing to wake up to the alarm clock and find I have slept the entire night without waking up. One small issue that needs to be commented upon. The top mattress frequently slides down toward the foot of the bed and has to constantly be pushed up. I think a few Velcro strips would probably solve that issue or get a bed frame with a footboard. Otherwise, I'm a happy camper!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bed Good bed.....only downfall is that if you or your partner have different settings (which is the entire point of having a sleep number) you develop a ridge in the middle of the bed not allowing you to "sprawl" or even cuddle with your significant other. otherwise, this mattress sleeps very comfortable and would still recommend it. if you like to hog the bed, however.....you should do a little more research before fully commiting.
Date published: 2010-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feeling a Bit Low I bought a 5000 and as far a comfort, this is one great bed. It is, however, 2 inches short of the advertised depth of 11 inches. It sits at 9 inches, way too low for the type of bed I have. The foundation is 7" deep and you might want to keep this in mind in evaluating your purchase. Size does make a difference!
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sitting on the Fence Half love the bed, half not so much. Love that my side is very firm while my husband's is very soft. But we've found that the bed is VERY hot. It's down to 30 degrees F at night here now, and we're still only sleeping with a sheet -- anything more and we're sweating our butts off. If Select Comfort would correct this problem, it would be the perfect bed.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bed Great Value My partner and I have VERY different sleep needs, and this bed makes that possible. Instead of one of us having to "settle" we both get the bed we want! We love it and would definately purchase another one.
Date published: 2007-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Support I have had bad back problems and my bed made my back pains worse. When I heard the claims in the ad that the Select Comfort bed would help ease back pains by providing the needed support while I slept, I figured I would try out the bed and see if it would in fact support my back and lead to a better night's sleep. The Select Comfort bed lived up to the ad and now I have no problems sleeping at night, and my back problems are not made worse by the bed. Great bed and I would and have recommended one to everyone.
Date published: 2007-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Purchase We love our Select Comfort bed. It is nice to be able to adjust the hardness/softness of the mattress if your back aches. We thought the bed was on the expensive side, but it is well worth it. We sleep better than we ever have. No more back aches when we wake up in the morning.
Date published: 2007-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the bed I love the bed..................I am constantly changing the settings even after 2 years. I have a bad back and some days I need a firm bed and some days I need a soft bed, that is why I love it.
Date published: 2007-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best purchase ever My wife and I finally deceided to purchase one of these beds when our old matteress needed to be replaced. We thought the price was kind of steep for basically a couple adjustable air matteresses. But needed to try something different for our ailing backs. It is nice to be able to adjust your own firmness, and we do look forward when we are away from home to stay at a Radisson with the sleep number beds. The bed wasn't a cure all for us but with the adjustability at least we can make it through the night without going out to the recliner. In all, we are glad we purchased our sleep number bed .
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We love it!! We looked at these beds for over 3 years and finally decided to make the "jump". We decided that while it was a very big purchase, that sleeping was something that we did for a third of our lives so it might be important to be comfortable doing it. We have loved it ever since. I'm heading there now and I can't wait to get there. The bed is very comfortable and we love that we can adjust it if we need to for whatever reason. I've already recommended this to some friends who have in turn bought one and also love it. EXCELLENT BUY!!!
Date published: 2007-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bed & Customer Service! We have had our bed for a little over a year. We feel that it has been a good purchase, my husband stays the same on his number, but I like the ability to change. I recently had surgery and it was great to be able to change the number to help with comfort after surgery. All in all - I think that it takes time to adjust to the bed, but once you do, it does make a difference. I am impressed with the customer service, we got our king size, and realized that after the first night my side had a leak, so we called and they sent us a new one the next day, and the return shipping tags to return the defective product - no questions asked and no cost to us!
Date published: 2007-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's okay-but worth the $$? It's okay. I can't say I've actually slept better than before. My husband thinks it's wonderful! - Hence the 4 stars for overall rating. I still toss and turn and wake up several times a night. Maybe just don't have it adjusted correctly. I have a hard time believing it cost that much and only a marginal fraction of improvement in my sleep and rest.
Date published: 2007-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying our king size bed We purchased the king size bed in June 2007. This is our second 5000 bed. The other was a queen size and we wanted to get a bigger bed. We love our sleep number bed, I'm a 60 and my wife is a 50."
Date published: 2007-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waterbed Replacement As the owner of a waterbed for over 25 years, it was difficult to give it up. My new wife just couldn't get used to my waterbed, and so I promised we'd get rid of it. I've NEVER slept well on regular mattresses, so I was dreading our choices. But then I found the sleep number bed. The support it gives is similar to a waterbed, and the comfort is also much closer to a waterbed than a regular mattress. I also have to admit, I don't miss the maintenance of the waterbed. I like my sleep number bed and my wife loves it, it is definitely much better than a regular mattress, and the closest I can come to my old waterbed.
Date published: 2007-10-16
  • 2016-10-01T09:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_390
  • loc_en_US, sid_p5, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

11-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric that helps you sleep comfortably

2 inches of proprietary PlushFit® foam provide head-to-toe contouring; 5 unique zones support your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$1099.99