PERFORMANCE SERIES BEDS

p5

Softness and more proper alignment

Sleep Number ® p5 bed is rated 4.019704433497537 out of 5 by 406.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bed I this the best bed I have ever purchased. It is worth the money I spent.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best. Bed. Ever. In a nutshell, I LOVE my p5 sleep number bed! My boyfriend and I (21 and 24 respectively) bought our sleep number bed in May of 2013 and we couldn't be happier with it. The p5 California king is exactly what we were looking for in a bed; the pillow top, adjustable firmness, and plenty of length for my boyfriend who is 6'2". We chose to save up and buy our bed in full, rather than selecting a credit option, and made an appointment at the store when we were ready to buy. I HIGHLY SUGGEST going to the store for an appointment rather than just purchasing via online! I say this because had we purchased online we probably would have bought the p6, but when we went to the store we ended up liking the p5 better (and it is the cheaper of the two performance series beds). Also, the staff was AMAZING! You feel like they really do care about your personal quality of sleep and teach you so many things about their product(s) that you wouldn't necessarily learn from shopping online and reading reviews--trust me, I read hundreds of reviews!! Not only were the employees kind and informative, we also happened to show up on the last day of the Mother's Day sale--we got about $700 worth of bedding and pillows for nearly half the price!! It was amazing. We bought lyocell sheets, temperature balance pillow cases, silver pillow protectors, four pillows, and a mattress protecting cover, all for around $400. As far as getting the bed delivered and put together by the sleep number delivery team, I would say SAVE YOUR MONEY!! The bed is very easy to put together and if you ever move you will already know how to take it apart and put it back together again. We put our bed together in about an hour. So, overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend this bed. It's amazing. We are looking forward to many years of restful and peaceful sleep :)
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Happy with this pruchase I just bought a sleep number p5, perfect combination of soft and hard for my partner and myself. Sleep Number customer service was WONDERFUL during the experience. They never said NO or I cannot help, anytime during the purchase, and delivery process. I am already sleeping better. I'm proud to say my sleep number is 70.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bed It was hard to part with the money but it has proven well worth it. No more waking up sore. The bed is better than I had hoped. I know 4 people with this bed and all swear by it. I would on the other hand not purchase the pillows again. The 2 king size pillows have not proven to hold up any better than other much less expensive pillows. I luckily am still within the exchange window and am going to do that today. Hopefully a different style will hold up better.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the bed The main reason we purchased the difference in how we like our mattresses to show the how far we are apart in our numbers my husband is 95 and I am 45! A tradional mattress just wont get it with us anymore I have no issues from purchase to delivery and sleeping now. We purchased from a sleep number store... the salesman was wonderful and was not pushey at all. They delievered the bed in a timely manner. No compaints.. at all happy with our purchase
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bed Today is day six of my sleep number bed and honestly I have to say that it is getting harder to get out of bed in the morning. I have adjusted the bed where it is comfortable for me and I love it. I have not had such a good nights sleep in years, seriously. People make fun of it and call it a large air mattress but that is your opinion. I am stating my opinion and I love it.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Bed Ever!! I have had my Sleep Number bed now since about 1999 and it is the best bed ever. I could never get comfortable on an innerspring mattress. I love being able to change the bed setting to suit my mood. My favorite number is 35. Since we only have a full size, we are thinking about purchasing a new P5 Queen size bed so we have more room. The cost might seem high but if you buy a good quality innerspring mattress, you will pay almost as much. In the 14 years I have this bed I have never had a breakdown of anything. It is still like new. If you are thinking of a new bed, please give this one a try. You will never want a conventional bed again!!
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I would have done this sooner My husband had always thought that a sleep number would be perfect since he thought he needed a hard mattress and I like a soft one. I happened to stop into the store one day and realized there were so many options. I thought I would like the memory foam mattress so I went right to that one. I wasn't a fan, it just wasn't for me. The P5 was my favorite so I brought the hubby in and didn't tell him which one I liked. Luckily, he picked the P5 as well. Turns out he is a 30 (he thought he would be like a 60) and I'm a 25. We've been sleeping in the bed for 2 weeks now and it is heaven. I can't wait to go to bed every night! I'm not much of a morning person and this bed definitely doesn't make me want to get up! We bought the flexible base, new sheets, the whole 9 yards and so far have really enjoyed everything.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miss My Sleep Number Bed We had a Sleep Number Bed for over 10 years, moved, and got crazy and decided to go to an oversized spring mattress, BIG MISTAKE!! We hate the bed and miss sleeping on a Cloud. Now we have to live (sleep) with this mistake until the mattress is paid for. We'd give anything to have our Sleep Number back. All we have now are our good sleep memories.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A couple with different preferences My husband wanted a hard bed, I prefer soft. We tried a compromise inner spring mattress with a thin pillowtop. We both had discomfort, and then, within two years, the non-flippable mattress developed ditches that left us both with back pain and disturbed sleep. My parents have sleep number beds so I got to test it and I was convinced it was the solution to the problem of our different preferences, as well as the general problem of the poor quality of mattresses being manufactured now. It took over a year to convince my husband it was a worthwhile expense. For the past two months he was sleeping on a spare twin mattress on top of the king mattress after we tried every possible "fix" including a board, extra foam, and swapping sides. Three weeks ago he finally tried my parents bed. Two weeks ago when I said I was ready to order one, he did not complain about the price. After MUCH research and reading of comments I settled on the P5: it seemed a good balance between the softness I want and my husband's aversion to sinking in foam. I had tried the Innovation pillowtops at the store and found them too soft even for my tastes. The P5 does not have so much foam that one cannot roll easily, yet it is still quite comfortable, and is not too hot to sleep. My husband, thinking he wanted a really hard bed, tried 65 and said it was too firm, so he will try 60 tonight. You sure can't do that with a traditional mattress! I loved 25, but found it was not good for turning: 35 still fills in the small of my back (which has a deep arch), but I could easily turn to my side or stomach, and there was no painful pressure on my bad shoulder. Assembly was not hard, but the instuctions were slightly poor: I got a bad photocopy of the instructions that come with the base legs, which made it difficult to figure out the cupped washer direction. I realized it was acting as a spring to load the wing nut (which prevents it from backing off), so to install it think of it as if it were a bowl: the bottom of the bowl touches the wing-nut and the rim of the bowl sits on the leg. There was no picture to show which side of the base rails are the top: I took a guess that the small pieces poking off of one edge served a purpose and assembled the legs so those small pieces would be at the top edge of the rails, which was correct: those pieces serve as the locks for the platforms. Sliding on the platform pieces was trial and error: there was nothing to indicate which direction to face the platform. The words molded onto the top of the platform are NOT a clue! The long divots molded into the bottom side are the locks for those little rail pieces and the long divots align parallel to the foot and head of the bed: if one direction does not work, turn the platform piece 180 degrees and try again. The platform will not rest flush on the rails if it is facing the wrong direction. If you have a bedskirt, put it in place before you "build" the mattress: the king size was heavier than I expected and not like lifting one my parent's lightweight "twin size" mattresses on their split king. My eastern king P5 mattress is still not as heavy as a traditional mattress, though. I am more than satisfied with how easy ordering was, how quickly I recieved the bed, the quality of all the pieces, and even the ease of assembly (despite the listed issues). This bed is the perfect compromise for two people with different preferences. I can always add a topper if I decide later that I desire more cushion, but my husband does not have to sink into foam. I get my cloud softness, and he gets to set his firmness to his comfort, and we get to sleep in one bed together! Finally, though the bed is admitedly pricey, it is a bed that I expect we will have for many years and one that can have parts replaced if they break down. We have gone through three tradtional mattresses in nine years because of the poor quality of even supposedly high quality name brand beds. Adding that cost up, we spent more for discomfort and waste in nine years than we spent for this Sleep Number bed! I would recommend the P5 to anyone!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looking forward to the next 15 years I'll be completely honest, I didn't like the bed when I first slept on it. I was disappointed and wanted to buy a memory foam pad (for yet another $100 after the initial expenditure..). After about a month, I can honestly say that I adore this bed. I only have a single air chamber, but it's supportive and I can fall asleep just like I used to on a memory foam. Passing out has never been so enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I purchased my bed about 11 years ago. Back then it was a C5 if I remember correctly. I have since called 3 times for service issues. Every time I call they take very good care of me. I do wish the zippered air chambers were free, but they lowered the price, so I shouldn't complain. I have loved the bed since the day I got it. I sleep very well, every night. I do make adjustments sometimes, depending on how I feel. That's part of the joy of this bed. You CAN adjust it. Yes, it's a pair of foam covered air chambers, but that's a very simplistic view. Being able to adjust the pressure on your body is tremendously helpful in so many situations. I would 100% buy another of these when the time comes. I dinged a star on comfort for the space between the air chambers, which they now seem to have fixed. And a star on quality for the construction of the mattress cover, which they also seem to have fixed.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Infestment It took me 1 year to decided if I would like to have these Mattress. I read the reviews and was a lttle cautious, but I bite the bullet and bought this bed. I have my p5 for 1 month now and LOVE IT!!! When I was in the store my number was 45, but now I'm a 50 - 55 I love that I can adjust the bed any way I want to get a better night rest and sleep. I have to make myself get out of the bed now, because I don't want to get up! If a new customer is reviewing my comments for this Mattress, hede my words, Buy this Bed. You won't regret it. I know I'm not. I'm a Very, Very satisfed customer. Thinking about buying another for my other bed!
Date published: 2012-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally... A good night's sleep! If you give the bed a chance to 'break in' and you find your sleep number, it's truly a great bed! It took over a week to find the right number, but now it's amazing. I'm now torn in the morning... get out of bed and go to work or continue to sleep so comfortably. What a dilemma. Love bed! I have already recommended this to some friends and family. Setup and installation was very easy to do. Very happy!!
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mattress I am admittedly a biased reviewer because I own 3 beds now. Never a problem even going back to my first bed in 1998 which I still use. I almost sent my first bed back but decided it was to much trouble to return. BOY am I glad that I didn't return it! I slept on my new P5 last night for the first time. Without a doubt it's the most comfortable of all my beds. If you give the bed time it will not disappoint. I use a single chamber mattress so I can hog the entire bed. I got the in balance layer which seems to work well. As I said, give it enough time. I have never had to replace any component nor had any issues.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleeping soundly. Owned my p5 for almost two years now. I bought the p5 as opposed to other models because it was kind of right in the middle of price and comfort. Translation: I can't afford the innovation series, and the classic series just felt like an air mattress. The p5 is absolutely perfect. My wife would complain about her back every morning. My problem was that I would wake up and adjust three to five times a night. Now, I sleep straight thru the night and it's fantastic. What's even better is I don't have to listen to the wife moan about her back anymore. And while she's constantly adjusting her sleep number to suit her on a particular night, mine has been the same virtually the whole time I've owned the bed. Yes, it costs a small forturne to own a Sleep Number bed, but sometimes you just have to splurge. Very easy to assemble, no need to pay them the fee for assembly. I do not regret my purchase... As long as it continues to last me for years to come, I will be an extremely satisfied customer.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love The Bed! :) Not the price! :( Our traditional mattress was about 15 years old and had indentations where we slept in the bed. After suffering with back pain and sleepless nights, we decided to look for a new mattress. We saw the TV commercial for sleep number beds and decided to look at them. We really wanted one but decided they were way too expensive! We shopped around and we were suprised how expensive other beds we picked out were too. So we gave in and went with the P5. I only wish I would have bought it the same night we tried it out! We've had the bed for a month and so far the only negatives I have are... It does look a little cheaply made while they are putting it together, and I really wished they weren't so expensive, (I would love to have a split king with adjustable base!) All that being said, A good nights sleep is priceless! And we wake feeling rested! We love our bed so much we even go to bed earlier now!
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! My husband and I bought our Queen P5 bed 3 years ago. I was hesistant to pay that much for a bed but we did like how they felt in the store. We went to a large department store and tried out some of their "luxury" beds. (we'd never looked at beds in that price range before!) None felt as good as the sleep number!! We went back to the sleep number store the next day and placed our order! We both love the bed, it is sooo comfortable. We both suffered from overworked backs and this bed has definately helped. It makes so much sense to be able to adjust your side of the bed to the setting you want. How many times do we compromise with our spouses!!! With a sleep number its up to you, no more compromising!! Our son really likes our bed too and continues to ask for a Sleep Number of his own! When we have enough saved up we'll upgrade to a king for ourselves and give our son the queen. Whenever we are on travels we too get into the beds and say "this is no sleep number!!" Yet another reason we look forward to coming back home! Thank you for such a good quality bed.
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best bed ever I have had my sleep number bed for 6 years, and it is the best bed I have ever slept on. My husband has a hard time sleeping at night and gets up 9 or 10 times a night and with our old mattress he was constantly waking me up also. With the sleep number I very rarely wake up when he gets out of bed. I sleep so good there are days I just want to stay in bed all day. I have recommended this bed to everyone I know and a few have listened. My sister and mother both bought one and love it too. I bought one for each of my kids last year after many years of them complaining that my bed was the only comfortable one in the house. My daughter just started college and is now bugging me to buy an XL twin for her dorm (still thinking about it though what would I do with it in 4 years?) When I go on vacation now I only stay in Raddison hotels that have sleep number beds (I am spoiled). Love it Love it Love it!!!!
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest Bed I've Ever Owned!!!!! I've had all types of beds ever since I was a kid. Everything from waterbeds, to daybeds, even a regular bed with an ordinary spring mattress. I started to hear about the Sleep Number beds for years always being real hesitant about the decision. My brother and his wife & kids all have their own Sleep Number and love theirs! So I thought I would try one. You know it was the best decision I've made in a long time! I absolutely love my Sleep Number bed. It varies what number I keep it on depending on how tired my body feels. But I just think that it is so unique how you can change the mattress from firm to soft in a matter of seconds without going from one bedroom to the other. I would definately recommend a Sleep Number to a friend!!
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last, a bed I can sleep on I had just about given up trying to find a mattress I could spend more than an hour on without back and hip pain. I have multiple muscle and joint problems, and have mostly slept on the living room sofa the last few years, sometimes even in a recliner. During this time I had tried about every mattress known to man, including Tempur-Pedic, which I did not like at all. Then a friend convinced me to try a Sleep Number bed. Wow, I couldn't believe the difference! The salesman helped me find my optimum sleep number of 35, and I could instantly feel the stress and tension melt right out of my body. I could have fallen asleep right there in the showroom. I couldn't justify the difference in price for the top-of-the-line model, although I did like it. Instead I bought the P5, which was still super-comfy. I figured I could always add a foam topper if need be. The bed's firmness settings are terrific but the adjustable base is what really sold me, and I would highly recommend it for anyone with musculoskeletal pain. You're supposed to give yourself a few days to adjust to the Sleep Number beds, but I was able to sleep straight through the night right off the bat. Expensive, yes, but this bed has been worth every penny.
Date published: 2011-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 13 years I purchased the original bed to the P5000 over 12 years ago in a california king. Love love love this bed. I just recently decided to downsize to a queen so I called select comfort and ordered another one. Definitely recommend this bed. And if you do the math it cost me $166.66 a year for one of the best nights sleep. Might seem a lot upfront, but well worth it.
Date published: 2011-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Last night, I slept in my new sleep number bed for the first time. When I got up this morning, I had no back pain, I had a clear thinking mind, I was breathing deeply and fully and I felt rested. This is the first tme I have felt this way in many, many years. My chiroprator was the person who recommended the purchase. I must call him today and thank him. I also thank Sleep Number. I feel as though years have just been added to my life.
Date published: 2011-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! My wife and I were sleeping on a premium (like $2000 premium) innerspring mattress set for the last three years. As the pillowtop squashed down, we were left sleeping on an inreasingly firm mattress. We were both tossing and turning every night and waking up with major pains that we didn't have before we went to bed. So, we finally tried a p5 sleep number bed. We've had it about a month, and I can say that it is pure bliss. We both sleep really well on it, although we are going to get the in balance mattress topper because we do seem to be warmer in the p5. To her credit, our saleslady told us that may happen because less air gets under you on a sleep number mattress. After about three days of the p5, our backs felt better waking up than when we went to bed instead of the other way around. Both of us noted feeling more refreshed in the morning, too. We waited too long to get one of these things.
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Bed I've had my sleep number bed for about 10 years. The only problem that I've ever had is that the mover lost my pump. I called for a replacement and it arrived in a few days. The bed moved from Lafayette, La to Houston Tx back to Lafayette and then on to Picayune Ms. You can actually pack it in your car! I'm looking to replace it with a King size. I'd never purchase a regular mattress again.
Date published: 2011-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my bed Have had our bed about 5 years; LOVE it, just like the day we got it! BEST sleep ever on this bed! Have 2 labradors and a cat- animals are on the bed constantly and no harm has come to the bed. Have plans to buy a larger sleep number bed in the near future. Recommend these beds to everyone!
Date published: 2011-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bed First time ever writing a review. I do not know about having back pain, but when your sore after a work out, it's awesome to be able to adjust the bed for your contort level I look forward to laying down ever night. Best purchase I have ever made
Date published: 2011-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bed I own two. Great for my back. Don't get the special classic. Best bed for the money. Bought the special classic and hated it , they took it back at no charge. Excellent service!!!!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from House Guests Love it Too! Bought a Cal king size select comfort in the 90's after a decade of crawling out of the depression made by my large husband in our other mattresses. Still have it, still love it. Bought a second base model king in 2005 and added my own foam pad - it is exquisite. It is in our guest room, and our guests have absolutely delicious sleep. Doesn't need a base - use some old box springs. In my opinion these new models are too complicated and gussied up and should not need to cost this much.
Date published: 2011-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I purchased our bed in 1994, we have loved every night of sleep on it! When we go on vacation, we miss our bed. In June of 2010 we purchased new foam siding and a new topper for around $500.00 and considered that a good deal. We would have had to replace a normal mattress twice by now. The price may appear to be expensive at first but you will have it much longer than a traditional mattress :)
Date published: 2010-12-14
  • 2016-10-01T09:50CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_390
  • loc_en_US, sid_p5, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

11-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric that helps you sleep comfortably

2 inches of proprietary PlushFit® foam provide head-to-toe contouring; 5 unique zones support your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$1099.99