PERFORMANCE SERIES BEDS

p5

Softness and more proper alignment

Sleep Number ® p5 bed is rated 4.019704433497537 out of 5 by 406.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bed I ever purchased I purchased the P5 King aproximately a year ago. I read mixed reviews about the sleep number beds. I wondered if I should take the risk based on the cost. I decided to take the risk. After all, I had 30 days to try the bed out. I love this bed!!! It is the best purchase I have ever made. I no longer feel stiff when I get out of bed and I sleep better. I don't feel when my husband turns over or gets out of bed, which is great. With the king each person has their own mattress, so the other person's sleep is not disturbed when they move. I highly recommend the bed support frame.
Date published: 2010-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BED!!!! We have had our sleep number for several years. My husband and I absolutely love it! I have low back pain, prefer to sleep on my side or stomach, and so decided we needed a new mattress, as our old one was like sleeping in a hole. What a difference our new bed made. I have been able to adjust my number with how my back is doing - that is a huge bonus, as I prefer a more "squishy" mattress but my back doesn't always agree. My husband feels the same way. Every night we crawl into bed and one or the other of us invariably says, "ahhhh... I love this bed!" No kidding. The only trouble we have ever had is, every now and again I would feel like my mattress had deflated a bit - my back lets me know - and then I would check my number and that was in fact the case. I would re-adjust it and it would hold for a long time - has never been a big enough issue to do something about it - happened a few times in the course of probably, almost 10 years.
Date published: 2010-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy We purchased this bed in 2010, since our other bed of 3 years left us sleeping in a banana shape. We hated to spend the money but I will tell you it is the best bed every. I can now fall asleep faster and stay asleep. I love this bed. I use to toss and turn all night and wake up several times during the night. Now I sleep all night and feel great the next day. Like it says when you buy the bed you have to get use to it and yes you do. But once you do you will fall in Love with it. thanks Sleep Number
Date published: 2010-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only bed to use My husband and I purchased the 5000 series in 2005 because he had back problems, and the different settings really helped him with his pain. He could make the bed firmer or softer to his comfort. That sure helped when his health declined. I am now a widow and the queen size bed with the two chambers is too big for my moble home and I am looking for a full size number bed now. So I plan to sell the queen size bed and purchase a single chamber full size bed.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever I have been sleeping on our bed since Jan 29, 2010. I have had headaches nearly all my life and neck pain for last 10 years. I haven't had a headache or shoulder tension since the first night I slept on the bed. I feel like I have died and gone to heaven. I don't think I have slept thru the night since b/4 I was 7 and for the first time in years I have full sleep nights where I don't even think I move. My body feels so relaxed during the day its phenomenal. I tell everyone I know buy this bed its the best purchase we have ever made. My husband who is a truck driver says his shoulders no longer tingle and fall asleep during the day.
Date published: 2010-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than advertised Purchased our queen size in 1993. Still have it - works like new, looks like new. Had a very slow deflation issue at about 5-6 years - company sent us a new inflator unit at no charge. The newer controls are better - the old ones said 'firmer' and 'softer' - having the digital display makes it a lot easier to get back to perfect after the kids have been messing with the controls. Even though these seem expensive at first , I now estimate my cost at around 32 cents per day - less than a can of pop! I wish everything I purchased was this durable and trouble free. Would I recommend it? You bet!
Date published: 2009-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT !!! We own 2 Sleep Number 5000 and we are currently looking into purchasing our 3rd one ! My toddler after experimenting on the Guest Bed (sleep number 5000) did not want to have anything to do with her little toddler bed anymore. So that says it all...We all have our Nice Beds and sleep wonderfully at night ! Just have to get the dogs one too : ) !
Date published: 2009-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bed! The best bed I have ever slept on! My husband and I discovered that we have the exact same sleep number in the store where we originally tried it. But when our old matressneeded replacing, it was a no brainer to buy a sleep number bed! I have recommended it to everyone I know!
Date published: 2009-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Bed! We received our new p5000 bed last Thursday and my wife and I are amazed with the results. It took about 3 nights to get our ideal settings. When we visited our store we were evaluated on the c3000 model and since the p5000 has more padding under the cover it is a little softer. Incredible is all I have to say! I have a history of lower back pain and this bed has made a big difference. I would wake up in the morning with my lower back hurting and aching and for the last 4 nights I can tell the biggest difference. I highly recommend a Sleep Number bed!
Date published: 2009-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good choice I have a lot of back problems, I use to wake up felling like I was run over, by a car, now that I have my new 5000 bed, I feel a lot better
Date published: 2009-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will never go back We bought our bed back in Oct.2005. And we love it,we have a California King mattress with dual controls. We would never go back to a regular Mattress.as a matter of fact we are in the thinking stages of buying one for our RV. You can set your number to what ever setting you like. If you work out int he yard one day and you have a tender back, you can set you number to a higher setting, without disturbing your partner. What other mattress can you do that to? I highly recommend the Select Comfort. Enjoy yours today......... don't think twice.
Date published: 2009-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We don't have to compromise anymore My husband and I got our Sleep Number 5000 1 week ago now and neither of us have slept better. We use to sleep in seperate beds since I need a firm mattress and he needs a soft mattress. We are both heavy and 3 years ago we purchased a compromise bed that didn't even hold up much past 1 year of sleeping in it. We will give up dates at least once a year on the Sleep Number we purchased and I hope we continue in our comfort for many years to come.
Date published: 2009-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BANG FOR YOUR BUCK! This bed is absolutely amazing! I was in a vehicle accident over four years ago and have had two surgeries to correct disks in my back! Ever since then i had not been able to get a full nights sleep because I was constantly tossing and turning trying to get into a comfortable position, and it just never worked, I was averaging maybe 3 to 4 hours of sleep a night, and which for me, was not much! I purchased this bed 2 years ago and let me tell you, it's been the best investment I have ever made! I still sleep sound and do not move after I get comfortable! The best part, I can sleep on my back again! With this bed, I feel like I definitely got the "Bang for my buck". I have never had any problems with it, and the pillowtop is still in great shape wihtout any "dips" in it as I had on my old bed! I even convinced my parents to buy one and they did and they love it as well! Buyers beware of a great nights sleep and the feeling of being rested the next day! If that is what you're looking for, then look no further! I still stop into the store I bought it from time to time, to see what's new. Of course I'm dreaming as i would love to purchase everything they have! But the staff at the Oak Park Mall is always friendly and I even won a gift when I went to their owner's event! Way to go Sleep Number! You guys have made me feel like a King!
Date published: 2009-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wife loves it!!!!!!! I switched from the leading memory foam bed to the P5 and have never slept better. I loved the support of the memory foam but my wife was always really warm and could not sleep. We purchased the P5 with the cooling mattress pad , I get the support I need and she no longer wakes up due to heat. I have since purchased a set for my in-laws and my younger brother. Well worth the price. Thanks Sleep Number!!!!!!!
Date published: 2009-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love sleep the sleep number bed is without a doubt, the best purchase as far as beds go---what other bed can a couple not only have different settings based on what the like/need, but also CHANGE every night/month/year when necessary?! your body is constantly changing as you get older and go through whatever changes, so unless you want to deal with buying a whole new bed every few years, why not just have ONE bed with ALL settings? :-) money is a factor for some people-but in the long run, it is WORTH it. you may not be able to buy happiness, but you sure can buy good sleep! Get one, you won't regret.
Date published: 2009-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best nights sleep we've ever had After much debate my wife and I finally decided to bight the bullet and buy a sleep number bed. We settled on the 5000 because we felt it was a great value for the price. The assembly was simple and instructions were excellent. The morning after our first night in the bed neither of us had any lower back or neck pain which had been a problem with our old bed. Once you lay down and set your sleep number you won't want to get up. I had read all of the reviews online and then we went to one of the stores to see the beds for ourselves. If you have any doubts go to the store and you likely will leave having purchased one.
Date published: 2009-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bed Ever!!! After having problems with my old mattress set..I could feel the springs. I knew it was time for something new. A friend bought a sleep number bed and loved it. This bed is so comfortable. It's amazing. I look forward to going to bed every night! I sleep so well. No more waking up at night, tossing and turning. I'm getting the best sleep of my life. I highly recommend the sleep number bed to anyone looking for a great nights sleep.
Date published: 2008-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Sleep Number Bed! I've this bed for over 13 years & still think it's best bed Select Comfort has to offer. For me it's the perfect amount of cushy pillowtop & firm air support. It really is the best of both worlds. It's the bed I recommend to my friends & family because I think it provides the most comfort along with the best price!
Date published: 2008-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from magic bed i seriously do call it "our magic bed" every day! when we go away we always comment how we can't wait to get back to our magic bed. we know it will make us feel better in an instant! it was the best way to spend our wedding money, especially since he likes a way-too-soft waterbed-type mattress (25), and i prefer much more firm (60-80), there was no way we could have agreed on any other bed! we are so pleased!
Date published: 2008-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleeping like a king After trying to figure out why I slept so well in some motels, I started to examine their construction and then upgrade my bedding at home. Along with a high end down comforter, 600 thread count sheets, a light blanket between top sheet and comforter, I also bought the setect comfort 5000 air mattress and a select comfort down pillow. Call me crazy, but this configuration has changed my life. I get to sleep almost immediately, seldom wake up in the middle of the night, sleep a full 7 to 8 hours and awake very rested. I think this mattress is very important, but would recommend all the upgrades I mentioned to anyone wanting a superior sleep experience. I think your comfort is related to softness and support as well as body temperature regulation. This mattress takes care of the softness and support, but the down pillow and down comforter assist your body to regulate it's temperature. The 600 thread sheets permit free movement and the light blanket between sheets and comforter promote softness. I did not try out the 6000 or 7000 series but wish I had.
Date published: 2007-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Darn Bed Period! I am writing this review to tell you just how impressed I am with your product. When it comes to proper support for the body, there is no such thing as a good spring mattress. There is no better bed than the Sleep Number Bed. The air chamber design supports my body perfectly, no matter how firm or soft I need it, and having the ability to adjust the firmness for each individual side, makes the bed universal. Thank you so much for your wonderful product!
Date published: 2007-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bed for Life My husband and I LOVE this bed. He HAD back problems before this bed entered our life 2 years ago. Being able to adjust each side was invented by a genius. We both now love going to bed. I think anyone who buys a traditional bed is wasting money. I highly recommend this bed for everyone as it's everything they claim.
Date published: 2007-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bed! Now we both get a good night's sleep on our sleepnumber bed!
Date published: 2007-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bed We were unsure that the bed would live up to its hype, but it has really made a huge difference to the quality of sleep we get. The ability to adjust the settings independently of one another is great - we both get a great night's sleep with no backache! We did have one problem with the bed, but a call to customer service got the problem fixed very easily without hassle. Love the bed!
Date published: 2007-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wedding present to ourselves My wife and I bought the expanded queen 5000 and foundation 5 1/2 years ago as a wedding present to ourselves. We have had a few quality problems (the foundation cracked and the top foam pad wore down a bit), but they were quick replaced with re-engineered parts that seem to have solved the issues. From what I've read, the more recent models are improved in terms of quality. I don't think we would have enjoyed married life as much with a bed that didn't adjust for each person. I'm bigger and heavier than my wife, and I prefer a firmer mattress, so a traditional bed would have been way too hard for her or far too mushy for me. When she got pregnant, we really appreciated that she could make the bed even softer for sleep and re-inflate it to help her out of bed in the morning. Sometimes, when my back starts acting up, I've found that making my side a bit more firm helps me sleep better. I can't think of a better present than a good night's sleep.
Date published: 2007-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well Spent I must say to everyone that I had horriable sleep prior.. when I got this bed my sleeping changed... No tossing and turning anymore.. WOW just a great bed
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWSOME I'm 5'5" and weigh 120 pounds and my husband is 6'2" and weighs 300 pounds, absolutely no way we could be comfortable in the same bed until we bought the Sleep Number. We actually sleep through the night. The best purchase ever made.
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get One I put off buying a Select Comfort for too long. I should have done it sooner. The bed is highly adjustable for both people. Pick your own firmness setting. I was happy to find a new motorhome that has a Select Comfort and bought it. Now we are comfortable in either home.
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Feels Great Just had my second back surgery and I am so glad that we purchased this bed!!! Seriously, depending upon how my back feels on any given day - I just have to adjust my side of the bed and I sleep all night. I've told people about how great the bed is and now we all have lengthy conversations about how well we sleep.
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We purchased our Sleep Number 5000 about a year ago. Had we known how happy we would be with the bed, we would have done so sooner! I have a chronic pain condition and need a bed that I can adjust as needed, and my husband prefers a firm mattress. In the past, we have had both a firm mattress and a plush pillow top. In both cases, one or both of us had great difficulty sleeping and woke the next morning feeling sore and unrested. Our king size Sleep Number 5000 helps us get the comfort and quality restorative sleep we both need. It has made such a difference for both of us that we have a hard time sleeping anywhere else. This has truly been the best purchase we've made, and without a doubt, my next bed purchase will also be a Select Comfort!
Date published: 2007-10-27
  • 2016-09-27T09:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_390
  • loc_en_US, sid_p5, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

11-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric that helps you sleep comfortably

2 inches of proprietary PlushFit® foam provide head-to-toe contouring; 5 unique zones support your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$1099.99