PERFORMANCE SERIES BEDS

p6

Pressure-relieving support, cool sleep surface

Sleep Number ® p6 bed is rated 3.940677966101695 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our First Sleep Number- A P6 with Adjustable Base Just got it delivered yesterday. The delivery was prompt and the set up was quick. The staff were professional. After first night of use, woke up refreshed and 90% of my back pain is gone. We had a form matters that never provided any support for my lower back; and as a result I had severe back pain. Currently, I have my number at 100 just to realign by body and then go down to lower numbers as time go by. My recommended number is a 55. I will update back. I still have 29 days left to decided if I want to keep the bed or not. The adjustable base is yours forever; you can't return those after 30 days.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We finally replaced our 1996 Ultra Series bed We went through several conventional mattresses and specialty water beds. Our last water bed was a Serta special 'back care' chambered water bed mattress. We replaced it in 1996 with a Select Comfort (there were no numbers on the corded remotes back then) Ultra Series mattress. It has almost completely fixed my lower back problems and the only problem we had in over 17 years was a slow leak on one side of the air supply. The company immediately sent us a new air supply and just asked us to return the defective one once we replaced it. This was about 10 years ago in 2003 when our bed was 7 years old. We had never had a mattress last that long. A month ago we saw some sale pricing on the new P6 series so we ordered a replacement for our original Ultra Series. We had also purchased a Special series queen sized mattress for our home in CA in 2008 and we could tell there was a big improvement over our 1996 mattress. The mattress was installed in about 2 hours and it's everything we hoped it would be. Now that we have 'numbers' I'm usually a 60 and my wife is a 35 or 40. The remote is novel but our older corded controls were fine as we each had a control at the head of the bed. Our water bed base made the foundation platform a little tricky to install but we got through it. The mattress with the foundation sits 10-12" higher than our old mattress but it isn't a problem. It is much easier to make the bed with it sitting higher and not needing to pull the mattress out of the deep-set water bed enclosure. We made a good choice 17 years ago and I'm sure it was expensive but we have forgotten the cost because it works so well! The new super-quiet air supply is nice too. We saved our old air chambers since they are still like new after 17 years. I LIKE the quality of this product.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I have had my bed for 2 weeks now and it is like sleeping on a cloud. My previous sleep number bed was over 15 years old and still good. It was not nearly as soft and comfortable as this one. So far we love it.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do not accept substitutes. I have had this bed now for about 2 months, I did some research and even found online similar products. I am glad I did not take a chance on an alternative soft-hard mattress substitute. I called them and while they were very friendly on the phone, they did not seem to know much about the beds that they sold. I guess they were more just order takers in the department I called. I went to the location in Dayton Ohio and was glad I did, I left with the P6 ordered, pillows, a mattresss pad and a cooling topper. I would rather keep my business local and the fact that they are made in the USA was a factor in my buying decision.
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If I like it, You'll like it So my wife has been nagging me about getting this bed (P6) for about 6 months. I finally caved and let her get one. Besides, how am I supposed to buy stuff I want if I totally veto this purchase? I was 100% against this bed and KNEW it was a total waste of money. Every review I read seamed to be a paid review writer to write a great review then a bad one would get slipped in just to make it all seem real.. I knew I would hate this bed and I knew I wouldn't be able to sleep on an air mattress. It's been 2 nights now and I'll have to say I am pleasantly supprised. I've slept good and according to my wife I don't toss and turn as much as I did on our regular bed. I have yet to find my actual sleep number but I will give each level a few nights to see how it is. When I first laid on the bed my side was set at 100 and my first comment was "this isn't too bad".. I have reduced it to 35 and I will work my up to the desired number.. My wife on the other hand is happy with her number of 15.. She is literally sleeping several inches lower than me.. pretty comical.. I do have lower back pain and didn't think this bed would help. Now after 2 nights I am a little more optimistic that it will. I will never tell my wife that she was right and that I actually like this bed. This will be our little secret.. The only negative thing is the price. I would have been more receptive to buying it earlier if it had been less expensive. Other then that, I think I like this bed. I'll be back in about 6 months for an update.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy We Bought This Bed Wow, Best sleep we had in Years! No more sore bones in the morning. Getting that deep sleep that makes us feel well rested in the morning. After reading some of the reviews and some were not the best, we were alittle skeptical I must admit but decided to go with it and decided on the P6. Well we now know it was the best decision we made and are very happy with our Sleep Number bed and would not trade it for nothing. As for the the not so good reviews, we think that some people just have to bash the bed because they have nothing better to do. Let them go back to the springs poking and stiff body in the morning if thats what make them happy. I know I am not and now it's time for bed and I can't wait!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving this bed! I *LOVE* our sleep number bed! My husband and I recently purchased a high-end traditional mattress, very firm with a nice pillowtop. He loved it, but it really hurt my back. I broke my back a few years ago, and I would be so stiff and sore it hurt to get up in the morning. We returned the traditional mattress and bought a P6 Sleep Number bed instead. It's amazing; I wish we'd bought one sooner! I love the separate air chambers. My husband is a "flipper", flipping from front to back to side during the night. Every time he flipped in a traditional mattress, it shook the bed and woke me up. Now, I don't even feel his flipping around. Plus, with the adjustable support offered by the P6, I no longer wake up with a backache or with my arms or hands asleep from the pressure points on a traditional mattress. The best part is the ability to set each side of the bed individually. My husband varies between a 90 and 95 on his side, and my side is a 35. No wonder we could never agree on a mattress in the past! Now we both love our bed and get a good night's sleep. It was expensive, but well worth it!
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best bed ever best bed i ever had. i have back problems now i can sleep better. if you need a bed buy a sleep number one
Date published: 2011-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so comfortable we own two we love our separate numbers and sleep like babies although we are in our 70's. we winter in florida and summer in indiana and have a sleep number in each home. does select comfort make a riser for the bed so that bed skirts don't lay on the floor but rather drape as they are designed to do. our p6 model has casters. thank you.
Date published: 2011-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Happy for over 12 years My husband gave me a Select Comfort Sleep Number bed for Christmas 12 years ago. The company doesn't make our model anymore, but it looks comparable to the Performance bed. I love, love, love, love, love our bed. When we moved, we were able to take our bed apart, roll it up and shove it in the moving van. I am not sure if you can completely take them apart now, but it sure made moving convenient! When we took it apart, I noted that, after 10 years, there were no dents, lumps or bumps in any of the foam. The air chambers are perfect and the pillow top, zippers and mattress are all also perfect. I sleep like a baby in our sleep number bed. I recommend it to EVERYONE. Someday, we might need a new bed. If and when that happens, we will go back to Select Comfort.
Date published: 2011-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bed Ever I have had this bed for over a year now. I love it. My sleep number is a 70 my wife's is a 45. This was a no brainer once we realized we both wanted opposite ends of the specturm as far as firmness went. I didn't mind spending the money on the bed since there was a 30 day money back gaurantee. Our old mattress came with the furniture and was passed on to us. It was about 10 years old. My back and legs always hurt when I woke up in the morning. After sleeping on this mattress one night, my back and leg pain was gone. This bed is well worth the money. Like someone elese mentioned I don't even feel if my wife gets out of the bed to take care of our son in the middle of the night. I hate traveling now since the beds in hotels and other peoples houses can not reach the level of perfection that my bed can. What could be better than being able to control the firmness of your bed. This bed will spoil you when you travel. No other bed will be as comfortable as this bed is. Buy it....right now.
Date published: 2011-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this bed! It is like sleeping on a cloud. I hate to go on vacations now because I have to sleep in a horribly uncomfortable metal spring bed. I feel like the princess and the pea but instead of a pea its metal springs digging into me when I *try* to sleep. My sleep number is 35 and my husband's is 55, the difference is so great we would have never been able to agree on one mattress (this was our first 'our' bed purchase). Also in our old metal spring he would wake me up every time he got up and now I don't feel it since we are on separate sections. I can't really speak to the special fabric it has because I put a mattress cover on top of it because I wanted to protect the bed. :) But the pillow top definitely adds additional comfort! I felt a little sick spending so much money on a bed but the comfort and sleep quality makes it priceless. If something ever happens to this bed I will definitely buy another Sleep number.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bed I have owned this bed for a few months now. This bed replaced an older Select Comfort bed. The difference in comfort is amazing. What a great bed. If you are looking for a new bed......you can't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2010-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better the second time around My husband I purchased this bed when we redid our master bedroom. We had a previous Sleep Number bed that we loved and it's now on our old bedroom set in the guest room. We decided to "upgrade" the number to a No. 6. It went up quickly and easily. Love the extra pillowtop and my old well worn comfy waterbed sheets fit just fine. We also love the new temperature control mattresspad. Call us a satisfied repeat customer.
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best decision made After buying several matresses in just a few yrs, I finally decided to check out the sleep number bed. My daughter who is an RN with back problems, has had her sleep number bed for 3yrs & loves it. My husband & I went to the sleep number store & tried out the different beds. Not being able to decide which one to get, Our daughter made the decision for us & suggested the P6. After sleeping on this bed for a week I must say "it is heaven". We both are getting the much needed sleep and back support!! Thank you sleep number....
Date published: 2010-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We just got our bed because we could not sleep well on our old inerspring bed. No problems now I love this be! Gives you that nice full nights sleep and comertable to!!!
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bed I have looked at these beds for over two years and finally bit the bullett and bought the P-6. I've had it 14 days now and my lower back pain is slowly going away! The comfort is awesome, my sleep number seems to be settling in at 35 which is soft. The pump is so quiet it would not wake your partner if you changed settings during the night. I had them set my bed up but it is so simple anyone could do it. If your still doubting go to your nearest store, try the different models and buy one, you will love it.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Sleep Number Experience After months of mattress research and trying out what felt like hundreds of mattresses, I think I finally found the right fit. I recently purchased a Sleep Number p6 queen size and was rather skeptical about its performance prior to delivery. Sure it felt good for ten minutes in the store but would it stand the true test of real sleep. Prior to this purchase, I tried out a similar airbed from a competitor and that mattress only lasted three nights before I was convinced it was not going to work. I woke up with a sore back each morning I slept on it. I do not have back problems or any aching issues but I did with that bed. So I decided to give airbeds another chance due to their ability to be adjusted as often as I liked. I decided to get the p6 because the "first feel" was awesome for my wife and I. No matter how firm it was set, it just felt good to get into. Then, once I adjusted it to my "Sleep Number" (40) I felt like I melted into comfort. My big issue with sleep is that I toss all night and require about 15 minutes to fall back asleep. This bed eliminated that and I did actually feel rested in the morning. I have not felt that way in years. I did not feel my wife get in and out of bed and I had no desire to change positions except to just test how it felt on my stomach, side and back. Comfy in all situations. When it arrived at my home, I set it up in about 1.5 hours. Very easy. It would have been faster with help but I couldn't wait. It was also delivered about a week ahead of expectation. If this bed truly lasts 15-20 years, then the cost is a mute point. When I assembled the bed, I noticed that the components were of pretty good quality and would not require much to replace if needed. And with 30 nights to try it out, it is likely that you just can't go wrong. Give it a try and you'll be wondering why you did not just crawl into one of these beds sooner.
Date published: 2009-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bed arrived early- Yay! Let me start by saying my bed arrived 2 weeks earlier than expected. Customer service reps are excellent! I have cervical and lumbar issues as well as apnea. I have never slept as well as I have from my very first night on our new bed. I highly recommend this to one and all, that is if you enjoy a truly restful night's sleep. Turn your morning up as loud as it goes! you'll need to to be awoken from this restful night's sleep.
Date published: 2009-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mechanics Best Friend We have had our Sleep Number Bed for over a year now. We are so happy with it I wanted to testify on the difference it has made in our lives. I am a heavy truck mechanic and I spend many hours with my back bent over working on diesel engines. Every 3-5 years we needed a new bed because I would wake up in traction when the mattress begins to wear out! This ritual was almost like replacing tires on a car and that gets expensive! Like many other people I have seen the commercials but blew it off. Ahh thats for rich people! I am not paying that much for a bed. I was complaining about my coil spring bed when A fellow mechanic told me about his sleep number bed. He said I could try one out at the mall with no obligation. We went to the mall where friendly "no pressure" sales people dressed in pajamas let us take one for a "test drive" in the store. Once we tested it we had to have it! My wife was sold right away and said she would kill me if I ever tried to go back to a coil spring bed! Sure it is more than I wanted to pay but in reality I have been paying more for other beds anyway! Compared to spending $600-$800 every few years on coil springs it doesn't that long to surpass sleep number prices. The only difference is now my back aces are gone and we both fall to sleep within 5 minutes of laying down. The quality of our sleep has improved 100%! One word of caution, this bed won't cure medical problems or keep you from occassionaly sleeping funny and waking up with an ach or pain. With the sleep number bed it just don't happen nearly as often! I am a 35 and my wife is a 40. Thank you sleep number!
Date published: 2009-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You for making this bed. I cant believe the sleep experience on the sleep number bed. I have been in severe back pain since 1991 and was not getting any relief until i got the sleep number bed. I have had my bed now a week and wouldnt trade it for anything in the world. I sleep all night without waking up and that is something for me. The back pain is not all gone but i didnt figure that would happen but to get some relief from the pain means more to me then anything. I would recommend this bed to anyone with back pain or problems sleeping it is wonderful. Thank You for making this bed.
Date published: 2009-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad we bought it Our old mattress was on it last leg so my husband and I decided to spend some extra money this time and try the sleep number bed. I think it is the best money ever spent. Before buying the sleep number bed, I was one of these people that would sleep for a couple hours then wake up and not be able to fall back to sleep. So I would get out of bed and clean house or email friends. Then after a few hours, I would go back to bed and sleep for a couple more hours before my alarm clock would wake me up for the day. After buying the sleep number bed, I actually stay in bed the whole night and have had the best sleep ever. Even my friends have commented that they don't get the early morning emails anymore. It did take a few days to find the right number for me and I do still adjust the number some nights, but that is the beauty of it, you can always adjust it to your comfort.
Date published: 2009-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised My wife and I have been married for 9 years, and decided that we needed to do something about our bed situation. We started with a cal king water bed in 99 and eventually ended up with a queen traditional inner spring in 02, and supplemented it with a 4 in memory foam topper about a year ago. We recently stopped in to our local mall and went through the whole sleep number process of testing and choosing a bed. We settled on the 6000 standard king, with a Lyocell mattress pad (Yes, this pad really works as advertised). Long story short, I am cheap. Buying this bed was a large investment as a frugal consumer. The happy ending is that in our first month of ownership, my whole attitude towards bed time has changed. I should also mention that i am about 5'11 and 330lbs, and have obstructive sleep apnea. This historically has been an aggravating factor in my hostility towards sleep. That has changed. This bed is wonderful. I can't put into words how it has affected the most important 8 hours in my day. I will not complain about spending the money to anyone, and will rather endorse the fact that if you have issues such as myself that create a perfect storm for a miserable nights sleep, this bed can and most probably will be a light at the end of the sleep tunnel. At this point, the only thing that will remain to be seen is long term durability and comfort. I should also mention that we bought 2 of the select comfort reading / sit up pillows and are very happy with them. So far, for a large investment of capital for me personally, I am thoroughly happy and very impressed with the level of comfort, and quality of product built into these select comfort products. Survey says: I am one happy customer.
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bed Ever My Husband and I just got married a few months ago and we had been sleeping on an air matress since we didn't actually own a bed yet. Well I talked my Husband into getting this bed for our first bed and we couldn't be happier! I am in love with this bed! It's fantastic and my Husband loves it too! We both can't wait to get into bed at night! It's helped both of us with our aches and pains! Thank you Select Comfort for making such a fabulous bed!
Date published: 2008-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the peak of comfort Hands down, the most comfortable and luxurious bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on...worth every penny!
Date published: 2008-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was a goo buy, good customer service and the bed came in a few days i sleep good.
Date published: 2008-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it some time Bed topping takes time to break in, but once it's broken in, this is a keeper. At first the topping may seem a little stiff so best to start with a lower sleep number, then gradually increase from there if necessary. Finding the best number setting takes patience and lots of experimentation initially but once the topping is broken in the good stuff underneath can really work it's magic. Tip: Don't give up on this one too quickly.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought two months ago. Very comfortable We are enjoying
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfort a sleep number c minus Bed is very comfortable makes sleeping all night a possibility as my hip pain has almost gone away. The sleep number software is something else. I sleep alone so it will not recognize this and if you sleep on one side it thinks you are up isn't this an easy fix?
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adjusted comfort So far this is been a great bed but, as a single person, I wish they'd had a one air adjustable sack instead of only the two option on this P6 model.
Date published: 2016-07-10
  • 2016-09-29T09:37CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_p6, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

12-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric and moisture-wicking technology for a cool, soothing sleep surface

3 inches of proprietary PlushFit® foam provide head-to-toe contouring; 5 unique zones support your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet

Generously plush profile provides ample cushioning

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$1849.99