PERFORMANCE SERIES BEDS

p6

Pressure-relieving support, cool sleep surface

Sleep Number ® p6 bed is rated 3.940677966101695 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware of the gap on the flexible mattresses! We got rid of our old Sleep Number bed last year and splurged on the P6 Flexible King mattress for the bed. We love the ability to move either side but have found that since one of us tends to sleep in the middle of the bed they end up down the gap in between the two chambers. Eventually a pillow heads down that gap and I find that the mattresses themselves are leaning out to each side making that gap even bigger! Had we known that this was a possibility we would NEVER had purchased the split king. We would love to replace it with a non-split king but Customer Service says we have to buy a new mattress. Not having an extra $5k sitting around we will not go that route . I was hoping their tech guys might have some sort of thingy that we could kind of convert it from the split to the non-split functionality but nothing was offered other than telling us to buy a new mattress. So I guess I might try and modify the thing myself to keep my husband from falling down in the gap when we sleep. I'm posting this here to point out the fact that the gap in the split mattress will DEFINITELY cause you trouble if one of you tends to sleep in the middle of the bed.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy I bought the p6 bed about a month ago. Also purchased the SleepIQ technology, all on an adjustable base. The base is my favorite. The bed next and I'm planning to return the SleepIQ. Not sure if it's just a receiver pack or if it's part of the mattress. The issue is that I sleep alone, often in the middle. Thus I'm not on either side completely. I added a fictional " partner" for tracking purposes, but not very accurate. It would have been nice if the salesperson had explained things a bit. Apparently I could also have gotten a single air chamber. Never mentioned even though I stated several times that I am single.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My favorite part of this mattress is that I can change hardness/softness depending on how I'm feeling.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To Firm We bought the p6 around 3 weeks ago and it seems really firm even on the settings of 25. We previously had a sleep number 5000 series which we loved, but was at a point of replacing since we had it for several years. We are not sure why it is firm , will give it a little more time.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Duel chamber divider I have had the mattress for about a month. It is a duel chamber bed and i wish that i had bough a single chamber. The divider in the middle is very uncomfortable. I did take it out but then the only thing filling the gap was a piece of zipped up cloth and it left a slight sag in the middle of the bed. I wish there was a way to get duel chambers that fit closer together without the divider as it is not comfortable for anyone that sleeps in the middle of the bed.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleep Like a Log!! I love the bed, just don't understand how to connect to my internet to get my sleep readings!!
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CONFORTABLE It help me with my sleeping, my back pains and legs.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bed Bought this bed after testing it out at local store. Love being able to adjust the firmness of the bed as we need to. Husband enjoys te cooling part of the bed and keeps him cooler. We did notice the California bed is not as wide as a standard California king by short by 5 inches on both sides but the length is spot on. Both of us are sleeping much bettet at night!
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from we like it we bought this bed for a better sleep the help with back support and being to hot we needed the adjustable mattress and for pillow top people on a budget we went with the p6 we like it if your a pillow top person I recommend the I8 or I10 if you can afford it but if you can't wait go with the p6 until you can and yes take your time and think about keep an open mind and ask questions and information about it it's not like or priced like a regular mattress witch we are all use to. it would be good idea to run the chambers the other way and be able to adjust each one individually and in finer adjustments
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very comfortable bed I bought this bed a few months ago to replace a feather top that I had for 15 years. My old mattress was extremely comfortable to sleep in, but my wife and I woke up feeling painful, especially on the back and shoulders. I didn't know whether to blame my old mattress until we replaced it with the p6. The comfort level felt the same at first, but we woke up pain free. I definitely appreciate the feature of controlling the firmness levels as my wife and I (like most couples I'm sure) do not have the exact same preferences. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would buy it all over again. The only negative I have is that the assembly was much more difficult than I anticipated. I would have definitely payed the extra money for the assembly had it been made clear just how involved the process really was.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bed We bought this bed 2 months ago and we both love it!!
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from outstanding customer service I bought this bed about a month ago and gave a bad review do to the padding ripping/tearing on assembly. I called customer service and was pleasantly surprised. The service was above and beyond what I expected. They sent me out a different pad, which is supposedly denser, and had no problems with installing it. Because of the awesome customer service I change how I feel about the bed. The padding still feels kind of cheap but it's working fine. I'm still trying to find my perfect number but waking up in the morning without back pain is worth every penny. If I would have any complaint about the bed it would be that it seems to make me sweat horribly every night. I don't know if others have this problem. I will probably have to get the cooling pad that I laid on at the store when it goes on sale next time. That was very cooling to lay on. I would give it 5 stars if the padding actually felt like it was a high quality padding and the bed didn't make me sweat a lot throughout the night.
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like this bed but loved my MLE We originally purchased the MLE Model with adjustable base and I was in love. But I discovered quickly that memory foam has polyurethane in it. I became allergic to the best bed I will ever own. I opted for the P6 hoping it would offer a similar feel. There is nothing wrong with this bed it is just not the wonderful sink in comfort of the MLE. I would never have given up my bed if I had not had a health issue. P6 is wonderful for someone wanting a firmer pillow top. My shoulder pain is sadly back. I really enjoyed my contact with the company so far. but I miss my MLE...
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bed but not great This bed sleeps better than our previous king mattress which was much too hard. However, we have slept on more comfortable beds in better hotels. Best feature is the being able to adjust the firmness. Nice bed but over priced.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good nights sleep My husband and I looked for a replacement for our foam bed. I have lower back issues and we both have shoulder problems. We searched the market for several years and finally decided on the P6 bed. My husband set up the bed in roughly an hour. The directions were good and he had no problems. We ordered 2 sets of sheets and they are fantastic. They stay in place and don't come untucked. The bed took a lot of getting used to. The bed was very hard and we were both waking up with sore shoulders. To alleviate the problem we went out and spent another $70 for a corrugated foam bed topper as we both weren't all that comfortable. That made a big difference. The bed is a huge improvement from the old foam bed, and I believe we sleep well. The extreme high price does make me wonder if we would repeat the purchase. We do like the expanded queen for the extra space and it fit perfectly on our queen platform bed. All in all it is a good bed.
Date published: 2010-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from P6 6 years later This is our second Sleep Number. The P6 is average at best. I really do not feel its all that incredible. In beginning until now, just average. Our backs have both hurt lately though. We have it now at 100 percent, dip in middle. Visited store, got caps, just think issue is bed pump must not work with the remote. Our 100 setting is more like a 70. We added our own 1" memory foam, to no avail. Considered limited edition with adjustable however there is new company on market we are now looking at. Great concept just not finding it to be overally beneficial.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ummm Can't seem to get the right number for my back pain. I must say i am sleeping a lot better but stll wake up witb back pain. Not sure if im keeping.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's not all that... I bought this mattress with the expectation of a plush mattress. While the quality is good it's not all that plush. The measurements of height are a bit off and the overall "comfort" is an adjustment. Finding my sleep number in my P6 has proven to be challenging. The bed is quite firm at #65. And we are in reduction mode. Each night I go down 5 points to see if I can make it softer. There's a difference between soft and sagging. So, we shall see. Here are the pro's. In a tight space this mattress easily allows you to set it up and tear it down with even one person. It's quiet when it inflates and deflates. It works well on virtually any adjustable base. Surprisingly this bed is not "hot" to sleep in. Here are the cons: With all new mattresses with modern materials a certain amount of off gassing is expected. The best bet is to allow the components to air out a few days. This mattress literally needed a week to get rid of the odor from the synthetic materials. It's a sacrifice if you want a mattress that potentially could last 20 years. If you want a plush mattress go up to the next higher level. This is a standard queen mattress with a euro tight top not a pillow top. It may take a bit to find your comfort on a bed like this. Just because you can unzip the ticking doesn't mean it washes beautifully in the washer. Be sure to read your manual carefully. To do it over again. I would most likely go up a higher level of mattress this version the P6 is no bargain but if you like a certain level of plushness go up a level or buy a feather bed. I'm nonplussed with this mattress. I could have had an equal experience on a less expensive competitor without adjustment. I would visit a store and see what the mattress is like. That was my mistake. So, while we are only a few weeks in I think we will see how it does going forward cause thrilled is not the word I would use to describe this pricey piece of bedding.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure yet I've had the bed for about 2 months now. It's comfortable at 90 for me so I don't if it's worth $4000 when I can get the same effect from a regular firm mattress. I may not keep it.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its just ok for the money spent! I purchased a p6 mattress two years ago and now the mattress is sagging toward the feet and hanging over the frame. Maybe its from adjusting the frame too much? When I adjust the head it gets caught on my headboard and raise it sometimes too. Not really impressed with the amount of money spent on this package. My wife and I still wake with backache after trying different settings.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings Bought 2 month ago, and still getting mixed feelings about it. I have disc problem in lower back and also in neck, so it's a challenge to sleep comfortably at night. Do a lot a tossing and turning in early morning hours. Had tried a foam mattress, and while soft, when I needed to switch to back position, it was not firm enough, and also noticed right away how hot it could become. Finally broke down, and decided to try this mattress. Right away, noticed it was much cooler, but it took awhile to get used to the different feeling of it. Took a few weeks to figure what number works best for side sleeping. When I have to shift to my back, still have to wake up enough to change number . I put on #100, and it is better, but sometimes is still not quite firm enough (Apparently , I need a board!) Think I would benefit from elevated head, but with queen-sized mattress, would affect both sides. (Will not work for hubby). To try a split King-sized would cost more money and space. Unwilling to do so yet. Summary, I like the adjustable firmness and adjustment of side by side, and the cooler temp. , but some people will benefit the most with adjustable elevation also. How much you're willing to spend is up to you.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor quality I received my P6 a week ago. Assembly directions are very good. My issue came when I was putting the 3" foam padding on. The foam is of very poor quality. While trying to put it in the proper position the foam kept ripping/tearing when I would grab it. I was not aggressive in my actions in the least. Needless to say I stopped trying to get it in perfect position. The padding does not slide easily on the air bags, which is a good thing, so you have to try and get some air under the pad so it will move. I've slept on it for a few nights and am pleased with not waking up with such a sore back. I'm sure with some adjusting that I will be back pain free when I wake up in the mornings within about a month.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A very expensive air mattress I have mixed feelings about Sleep Number. People either love the bed or hate it. I tried it out in the store and felt that it was pretty comfortable. But after sleeping on it for the first night, it was not so great. I even added a second layer of memory foam and it still felt uncomfortable. I couldn't shake the feeling of sleeping on an air mattress and I missed having the spring of a traditional bed. I kept the bed for a few months and eventually got used to it, but still considered it to be way overpriced. Had this bed been much lower in price, I probably would have kept it. I ended up returning it to Sleep Number and they made the process very easy. I was also credited within a few days after the return. I also purchased the adjustable base (which is not returnable) and I absolutely love it! I would also recommend Sleep Number's mattress pad, as I found it to be very high quality. Overall, the bed is OK but there are far better mattresses on the market for a similar price. Also, check the warranty details as it is not as great as other mattress sellers.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from P6 We bought our bed about a month ago and we are not impressed. We are having issues finding the right sleep setting and have even gone back in to be remapped. We wake up with sore backs and not rested. We are going to return it.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with it We bought this about a month ago and my wife is happy. I have said I have back hurts when I get up and have set it on many different settings. Today my wife just set on my side and something is wrong on your side. I figure it might be that I weigh 245 lbs. We had a sleep comfort previously and she thought it was just loosing air on my side so we bought another one, her side is fine mine not so much.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Impressed with SOME Things not with others The P6 is a nice bed but I wish it had more padding. My brother just got one ( an iLE ) and the comfort level is a lot better on his. I am happy overall with the sleep improvement I have had but I feel like the amount that I paid I should have more comfort than I do. I also feel like the padding was misleading in the store when I tested the beds, It seems to me that the bed I received does not feel the same as the bed in the store. I feel like it would be better if it had more foam or padding. I'm also disappointed that I got the legs as I was led to believe that I had to have them. Overall the bed is really nice and I am sleeping much better but I do think it could be better with a bit more padding to give me the same feel that I had in the store.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So so... I bought this bed a little over a year ago and I am not thrilled. I was so enthusiastic when I bought it but never really fell in love with it. I apparently like a really firm bed as I keep it at 90-95. An unanticipated negative is that the air chambers can get very cold in the winter. I do not have central heat so the heat is off all day. When I get home at 8pm and turn the heat on and get into bed a few hours later it is freezing because the air in the chambers is still cold and there is no way to warm it up! I ended up getting an electric blanket that I put under my comforter and turn on an hour before I get in bed that helps a little. For the price and the great features of the bed I expected to be thrilled with it but have been rather underwhelmed.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay My husband had to have a Sleep Number bed. Now that we have been sleeping on it for awhile, we both think it's just ok. Maybe I'm missing something but for the money we spent on the bed, I'm not impressed.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought the King p6 I have not had a full nights sleep yet and have this for well over 6 months.. We have tried everything that we could and even bought a 2 inch foam topper. Still no real sleep, we wake up tired. They are sending us a new outside cover because they think the original is stretched.. We will see if this works.... No longer sure of of this bed ever being comfortable. Very unhappy with this purchase.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved This Bed...in the beginning We bought this bed in the split king and at first loved it. We did all the right stuff with putting on the covers ( they told us we needed to so we could protect our warranty. So 8 months down the line our foam compressions were so bad I called to see if I could get some help under the warranty. SHOULD HAVE READ THE WARRANTY!!! This is not covered. My back kills me after sleeping in this bed now. My husband's side is not quite as bad but it is getting there. (Oh you would think I would be heavy to have this problem I weigh 125.) I then asked how much for new foam. I was going to have to spend another $600.00 to replace our foam that would proably go bad in another 8 months. I am sick that we paid so much for a bed and only got comfort for a few months. Read your warranty and be smart. I would NEVER buy another one. We did buy foam inserts from another store and that helped a little.
Date published: 2013-11-08
  • 2016-09-26T08:45CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_p6, PRD, sort_positive
  • clientName_SelectComfort
Reviews

Features

12-inch Pillowtop with breathable knit fabric and moisture-wicking technology for a cool, soothing sleep surface

3 inches of proprietary PlushFit® foam provide head-to-toe contouring; 5 unique zones support your head and neck, shoulders, back, hips and feet

Generously plush profile provides ample cushioning

Simple, wireless remote remembers you and your ideal support, and guides you to your Sleep Number® setting

ALL SLEEP NUMBER MATTRESSES OFFER

Sleep Number
Feel, see, and hear the difference
You'll only find Sleep Number® at a Sleep Number® store

Product Reviews

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Product Q&A

Furniture not included.
Due to the cost of doing business in California, Performance, Memory Foam and Innovation Series Twin and Full mattresses incur a $50 surcharge; Queen and King mattresses incur a $100 surcharge. The surcharge will be added in your shopping cart after you enter your shipping address. Picture may not represent options selected.

$1849.99